Gaighat Assembly Elections 2015

Gaighat Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
MAHESHWAR PRASAD YADAVRashtriya Janata Dal67313
VEENA DEVIBharatiya Janata Party63812
ASHOK KUMAR SINGHIndependent7826
VISHAL KUMARJanta Dal Rashtravadi2822
VAKIL SAHANISarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party2421
ABDUL- WAHABBahujan Samaj Party2324
RANI SINGHIndependent2262
MD. NAJUL ANSARIIndependent2112
JITENDRA YADAVCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)1698
AMRITA SINGHGarib Janta Dal (Secular)1418
PRABHU SAHANIBajjikanchal Vikas Party931
SURAJ SAHNIIndependent891
SURESH KUMARIndependent713
BRAJKISHORE RAYBharti Samudaya Party701
JIVNESHWAR JHAAll India Forward Bloc619
KAPILDEV SINGHBahujan Kranti Party (Marxwad-Ambedkarwad)566
KAMESHWAR THAKURBhartiya Janhit Dal489
KAMALDEV RAMBahujan Mukti Party456
None of the AboveNone of the Above1070

Gaighat Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
88 GEN Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Gaighat Assembly Elections Constituency

Gaighat legislative assembly constituency is in Muzaffarpur district and is a part of the Muzaffarpur Lok Sabha constituency. Gaighat assembly segment is home to 2,69,651 voters of whom 1,43,548 are men and 1,26,099 women. Gaighat assembly segment comprises Shivdaspur, Katra, Madhepura, Sonpur, Dhanaur and Berai South gram panchayats of Katra community development block; Bandra and Gaighat CD blocks.

Electoral History of Gaighat Constituency in Bihar

  One of the assembly constituencies located in the Muzaffarpur district in Bihar, Gaighat assembly constituency is currently being represented in the Bihar Legislative assembly by Veena Devi of the BJP who won the seat in 2010 general assembly polls to the state by defeating his nearest rival and sitting Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) MLA Maheshwar Prasad Yadav by a margin of 15987 votes.

   In that election, whereas Veena Devi polled 56386 votes, Maheshwar Prasad Yadav received 40399 votes and was followed by Arti Devi of the Congress who managed to get just 6742 votes.

  Earlier Maheshwar Prasad Yadav had romped home from the Gaighat assembly seat in both the elections in 2005 as an RJD nominee. While in 1990 he had entered the portals of the Bihar assembly as an Independent, his win in 1995 came on the ticket of the Janata Dal which over the period of time disintegrated into deferent splinter groups. In 1995 he had trounced Anand Mohan Singh who had floated the now defunct Bihar Peoples Party (BPP) and is now is now in jail for his involvement in the murder of an IAS officer.

  Earlier Veerendra Kumar Singh had emerged victorious from the Gaighat in 1985 and 2000 to claim the seat for the Congress and the Janata Dal respectively. In 1980 Gaighat went in favour of the BJP whose candidate Jitendra Prasad Singh defeated the sitting Janata Party MLA Vinodanand Singh, the winner in 1977.

  Aurai is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Muzaffarpur which is currently represented by Ajay Nishad of the BJP who won the seat by defeating his nearest Congress rival Akhilesh Prasad Singh by a massive margin of 2, 22,422 votes in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections that elected the Narendra Modi government at the centre. Vijendra Chaudhary of the JD (U) came third in 2014 parliamentary elections to the Muzaffarpur. Vijendra Chaudhary has won the Muzaffarpur assembly seat four times (1995, 2000 and February as well as October/November 2005). Bijendra Chaudhary, who contested the Kurhani assembly seat in 2010 on the ticket of the LJP, was defeated by Manoj Kumar Singh of the Janata Dal (United) by a close margin of 1570 votes.

  Other five assembly constituencies that fall under the Muzaffarpur Lok Sabha seat are Gaighat, Bochahan, Sakra, Kurhani and Muzaffarpur.

Gaighat Assembly Election News 2015

BJP is sitting pretty

Updated on : Oct-10,2015

Veena Devi from BJP is ready to give a tough fight to Maheshwar Prasad Yadav of RJD in Gaighat. Both are old rivals as they faced each other in the last assembly election in 2010. Sitting BJP MLA Veena Devi represents Gaighat in the assembly. In the 2010 assembly polls, she bagged 56,386 votes and defeated Maheshwar Prasad Yadav of RJD who won 40,399 votes.
However, there is resentment among the old guard of Muzaffarpur district unit of BJP. The party workers and leaders in the district are unhappy over tickets being distributed to new entrants. BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi was shown black flags at Bhagwanpur Chowk and Motipur by his party workers. The district party leaders opposed the selection of MLAs from other parties as BJP candidates in Muzaffarpur district.

Gaighat Assembly Election Videos 2015