Forbesganj Assembly Elections 2015

Forbesganj Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
VIDYA SAGAR KESHRIBharatiya Janata Party85929
KRITYANAND BISWASRashtriya Janata Dal60691
ZAKIR HUSSAIN KHANJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)18894
LAXMI NARAYAN MEHTABahujan Samaj Party4262
ASHOK MISHRANationalist Congress Party2304
SUBHASH CHAND JHAAkhil Bhartiya Mithila Party1276
MANJULA DEVIIndependent1267
GAYATRI DEVIIndependent1188
NOORULLAHCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)952
MANOJ SADABharat Vikas Morcha569
None of the AboveNone of the Above3428

Forbesganj Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
48 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Forbesganj Assembly Elections Constituency

Forbesganj legislative assembly segments is in n the Araria district lies in the Araria Lok Sabha segment. It covers the Forbesganj community development block according to the suggestions of the Delimitation Commission of India in 2008. The Forbesganj assembly constituency has a total of 2,78,987 voters of whom there are 1,48,108 male and 1,30,8783 female voters.

Electoral History of Forbesganj Constituency in Bihar

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Araria district of Bihar, Forbesganj assembly seat was won in 2010 general assembly polls to the Bihar Legislative assembly by Padam Parag Roy Renu of the BJP who had defeated Maya Nand Thakur of the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) by a handsome margin of 26827 votes. In that election, whereas Padam Parag Renu, son of famous Hindi writer Phanishwar Nath Renu, Sitting, polled 70463 votes, Maya Nand Thakur, who had earlier won the seat in 1990 and 1995 as a member of the BJP, received 43636 votes and was followed by Prakash Chaudhary of the Congress who managed to secure only 8185 votes.

Earlier Laxmi Narayan Mehta of the BJP had won both the elections in 2005. In both occasions his nearest rival was Zakir Anwar alias Zakir Hussain Khan of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD). It has to be borne in mind that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

Zakir Hussain Khan had won the seat in 2000 by defeating Laxmi Narayan Mehta, then an Independent candidate, by a margin of 6548 votes, Maya Nand Thakur, who entered the fray as a BJP candidate, was relegated to the third place. Zakir Hussain Khan had contested the 2000 election behind the bars as a nominee of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). He is the sitting MLA from Araria assembly seat which he won on the ticket of LJP in 2010.

Once a bastion of the Congress, Forbesganj had been represented by former Congress minister Saryu Mishra for well nigh 30 years. He had won the seat seven times in a row.

Forbesganj is one of the six assembly segments that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Araria currently represented by Tasilmuddin of the RJD who won it by defeating his nearest rival and sitting MP Pradeep Kumar Singh by a margin of 146506 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014.

Forbesganj Assembly Election News 2015

Updated on : Oct-12,2015

Krityanand Biswas of RJD will take on Manchan Kesri from BJP in Forbesganj. The BJP candidate might have to put up with rebel workers as they they vented their anger over denial of ticket to the sitting party MLA here. Sitting MLA from Forbesganj Padam Parag Rai Venu has joined the ruling JD-U after he was denied a party ticket by the BJP. Venu, son of noted litterateur Phaniswar Nath Renu, joined the JD-U in the presence of state JD-U chief Bashishtha Narayan Singh.
RJD is taking full advantage of the factional squabbles in BJP as the latter may find it difficult to presented a united NDA front ahead of election due to rebel activities. Venu had won the seat in 2010 assembly election. BJP's Padam Parag Rai represents the Forbesganj segment in the assembly. Rai beat Maya Nand Thakur of LJP with a huge margin of 26,827 votes in the 2010 assembly election. Padam Parag Rai got 70,463 votes, while Maya Nand Thakur managed to get 43,636 votes.

Forbesganj Assembly Election Videos 2015