Ekma Assembly Elections 2015

Ekma Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
MANORANJAN SINGHJanata Dal (United)49508
KAMESHWAR KUMAR SINGHBharatiya Janata Party41382
RANJEET SINGH (HARPUR)Independent28345
SANJAY KUMARJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)2651
SANTOSH KUMARIndependent2200
KUSHWAHA RAJBAL SINGHBahujan Samaj Party2065
RANJIT SINGH (MANJHI)Independent2039
RAMESH KUMAR SINGHBhartiya New Sanskar Krantikari Party1629
BINOD SINGHIndependent1378
None of the AboveNone of the Above5293

Ekma Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
113 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Ekma Assembly Elections Constituency

  Ekma is part of the Maharajganj Lok Sabha constituency. It is located in the Saran district The Ekma assembly segment is populated by 2,64,860 eligible voters, out of whom 1,41,485 are men and 1,23,373 are women.

   The Ekma assembly constituency would cover Lahladpur community development block; Ekma community development block; and Gobrahi, Mohmmadpur, Chephul, Bhajouna Nachap, Atarsan Ashahni, Matiyar, Nawada, Mobarakpur and Bhalua Bujurg gram panchayats of Manjhi community development block.

Electoral History of Ekma Constituency in Bihar

  Janata Dal (united) member, Manoranjan Singh who had the maximum number (18) of criminal cases pending against him according to National Election Watch, is the sitting MLA from Ekma. In the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2010, he was elected from this seat in the Saran district in Bihar by virtue of his win over Kameshwar Singh Munna of the Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) by a handsome margin of 29201 votes.

   In that election while Manoranjan Singh polled 55474 votes, Kameshwar Singh Munna, who later joined the JD (U) in 2013, received 26273 votes and was remotely followed by Sheo Kumar Singh of the Congress who managed to secure a meager 3226 votes.

  In 2010 the BJP did not field its candidate for the Ekma seat because it was in alliance with the Janata Dal (United) at that time. However, as things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways and the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), then an ally of the RJD, is now a part of the BJP led NDA, the ruling dispensation at the Centre.

  In 2010 the BJP had won 91 seats whereas the JD (U) managed to claim 115 seats, becoming the single largest party. While the RJD put up a dismal performance with only 22 seats, the Congress was able to win only four.

  Located in the Saran district of Bihar, Ekma, which came into being before the 2010 assembly polls following the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission, is one of the six assembly segments that unite to create the parliamentary constituency of Maharajganj.

  Maharajganj is currently represented by Janardan Singh Sigriwal of the BJP who won the seat by defeating the sitting RJD MP Prabhunath Singh in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections that paved the way for the Narendra Modi government at the centre. Manoranjan Singh of the JD(U) was relegated to the third place.

  Other five assembly constituencies that fall under the Maharajganj Lok Sabha seat are Baniapur, Goriakothi, Maharajganj, Manjhi and Taraiya.

Ekma Assembly Election News 2015

People want positive change

BJP has fielded Kameshwar Singh from Ekma. While Manoranjan Singh from JD(U) will contest in this constituency. Though caste factor is a dominant issue, the backward status of this constituency rankles voters here. The people in Ekma want a positive change to usher in economic growth in this much neglected area.