Dumraon Assembly Elections 2015

Dumraon Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
DADAN YADAVJanata Dal (United)81081
RAM BIHARI SINGHRashtriya Lok Samta Party50742
SRIKANT SINGHIndependent14656
SUSHILA DEVICommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)4216
DAUD ALIJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)4216
PRADEEP KUMARBahujan Samaj Party3033
RAVI SHANKAR RAIIndependent726
RAVI RAIIndependent704
VINIT KUMAR MISHRAJanta Dal Rashtravadi414
DHIRAJ KUMARIndependent402
DEO KANT MISHRAIndependent310
None of the AboveNone of the Above3705

Dumraon Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
201 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Dumraon Assembly Election Constituency

Dumraon is a legislative assembly constituency in the Buxar district. A total of 2,71,708 eligible voters of whom there are 1,45,938 male and 1,25,765 female voters in Dumraon. The assembly segment of Dumraon belongs to the Buxar Lok Sabha constituency. It comprises Chilhari, Kushalpur, Bhojpur Kadim, Bhojpur Jadid, Chhatanwar, Nuaon, Sowan, Ariaon, Nandan, Lakhan Dihra & Dumraon (M) gram panchayats of Dumraon community development block; Chaugain community development block; Kesath community development block; and Nawanagar community development block.

Electoral History of Dumraon Constituency in Bihar

One of the four assembly constituencies located in the district of Buxar in Bihar, Dumraon is currently held by Dr. Daud Ali of the Janata Dal (united) who had defeated her nearest rival Sunil Kumar of the Lalu Yadav�s Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) by an impressive margin of 19846 votes in the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2010.

In that election, while Daud Ali polled 42538 votes, the RJD candidate received 22692 votes. The sitting MLA Dadan Yadav was relegated to the third place with 17956 votes. Also known as Dadan Singh Pahalwan, he contested the 2010 election to Dumraon on the ticket of Deve Gowda's Janata Dal (Secular) popularly called JD(S). He also unsuccessfully contested the neighbouring Brahampur assembly seat in 2010. Usha Devi, Dadan Singh Pahalwan�s wife, had unsuccessfully contested the Brahampur assembly seat in October/November in 2005.

Dadan Yadav had unsuccessfully contested the Buxar Lok Sabha seat in 2009 as an independent but he managed to secure 122975 votes against 132614 votes received by the RJD nominee Jagada Nand Singh, the winner of the seat.

Earlier Dadan Yadav was elected from the Dumraon assembly in 2000 and both the assembly elections in 2005. While his win in 2000 came as an independent, he won the February election as a Samajwadi Party (SP) candidate. In the next election held in October, he claimed the seat on the ticket of Akhil Jan Vikas Dal (AJVD).

Before that Dumraon had sent Basant Singh three times in a row to the Bihar Legislative assembly. While he had won it in 1985 as a Congress nominee, his election in 1990 and 1995 came on the ticket of the Janata Dal.

Buxar, Brahampur and Rajpur are the other three assembly constituencies located in Buxar district.

Dumraon is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to create the Buxar parliamentary constituency currently represented by Ashwani Kumar Choubey of the BJP who retained the seat for the BJP by defeating his nearest rival and sitting RJD MP Jagada Nand Singh by a margin of 1,32,338 votes in the last parliamentary elections in 2014.

Brahampur, Buxar, Rajpur, Dinara and Ramgarh are the other six assembly constituencies falling under the Buxar Lok Sabha seat.

Dumraon Assembly Election News 2015

Muscleman given JD(U) ticket

Updated on : Oct-6,2015

Dadan Pahalwan, a muscleman from Buxar district known for campaigning in a two-seat helicopter, has been given a JD(U) ticket in Dumraon. Though he got high vote counts in earlier polls as an Independent and an SP candidate, he won neither. The JD(U) removed Dumraon MLA Dawood Ali to accommodate Dadan Singh Yadav, popularly known as Dadan Pahalwan. Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP), an ally of NDA, Ram Bihari Singh from Dumraon.
Bihar legislative council chairman and former minister Awadhesh Narain Singh was hoping for a ticket for his son Raman from Dumraon. But since the seat has gone to RLSP candidate, Awadhesh has expressed unhappiness saying the party had disrespected him despite his holding such an important post.

Dumraon Assembly Election Videos 2015