Dhuraiya Assembly Elections 2015

Dhuraiya Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
MANISH KUMARJanata Dal (United)68858
BHUDEO CHOUDHARYRashtriya Lok Samta Party44704
MUNILAL PASWANCommunist Party of India24501
VIJAY PASWANSarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party3345
PUSHPALATA KUMARIBahujan Samaj Party2642
NEELU DEVIBhartiya Dalit Party2319
ANIL RAJAKGarib Janta Dal (Secular)1489
GANESH PASWANSamajwadi Party1345
None of the AboveNone of the Above5836

Dhuraiya Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
160 (SC) Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Dhuraiya Assembly Elections Constituency

Dhuraiya legislative assembly seat is part of Banka lok sabha constituency. It is a reserved seat for the SC candidates. It has a total of 2,50,789 eligible voters, amongst whom 1,33,000 are men and 1,17,786 are women.

Electoral History of Dhuraiya Constituency in Bihar

   Once a stronghold of the Communist Party of India (CPI) whose candidate Naresh Das had won it five times, Dhuraiya assembly seat is under the control of the Janata Dal (United) since 2005. One of the five assembly constituencies located in the Banka district of Bihar, Dhuraiya is currently held by Manish Kumar of the JD(U) who retained it by defeating his nearest rival Naresh Das, then a Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) nominee, by a margin of 8342 votes in the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2010.

   In 2010 while Manish Kumar polled 40261 votes, Naresh Das received 31919 votes and was followed by Muni Lal Paswan of the CPI who got 25265 votes. The Congress nominee Mandareshwar Kumar Mantu was relegated to the fourth place with just 4894 votes.

   Amarpur, Banka, Katoria and Belhar are the other four assembly constituencies located in the Banka district.

   Earlier Manish Kumar was elected from Dhuraiya in 2009 when he won the seat by defeating Naresh Das of RJD in a byepoll necessitated due to the resignation of sitting JD (U) MLA Bhudeo Choudhary who was elected to the Lok Sabha. Bhudeo Choudhary, who had won both the elections in 2005 on the ticket of Janata Dal (United), had emerged victorious from the seat in 2000 on the ticket of Samata Party, the earlier avatar of JD (U). In 2000, he had defeated the RJD nominee Ramroop Harijan who was the winner of the Dhuraiya seat in 1985 as a candidate of the Congress. Barring the 1985, the Congress has never been able to win this reserved seat for the scheduled castes since 1969.

   Naresh Das had claimed the Dhuraiya assembly seat for the CPI in 1972, 1977, 1980, 1990 and 1995.

   Dhuraiya is one of the six assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of Banka which is currently represented by of Jay Prakash Narayan Yadav of the RJD who won it by defeating the sitting MP Putul Kumari in 2014 Lok Sabha elections by a margin of 10144 votes. Putul Kumari, who joined the BJP before 2014 general parliamentary elections, had won the Banka seat as an Independent in a bye poll in 2010 necessitated due to the death of her husband and former Union minister Digvijay Singh who had also won the seat in 2009 as an independent.

   Other assembly segments located in the Lok Sabha constituency of Banka are Amarpur, Banka, Katoria, Belhar and Sultanganj.

Dhuraiya Assembly Election News 2015

Tough fight on cards

Updated on : Oct-4,2015

Union Minister Upendra Kushwaha's RSLP which is part of the NDA front will contest in Dhuraiya constituency. This constituency under Banka district is reserved for SC candidates. In 2010 assembly polls, Manish Kumar from JD(U) was elected from Dhuraiya. However, this time JD(U) is facing a stiff challenged from the combined NDA candidate.

Dhuraiya Assembly Election Videos 2015