Dhamdaha Assembly Elections 2015

Dhamdaha Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
LESHI SINGHJanata Dal (United)75400
DILIP KUMAR YADAVJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)12664
MITHLESH KUMAR SINGHCommunist Party of India (Marxist)4972
JYOTI RANIIndependent4135
YOGENDRA KUMARIndependent3775
TAHAMMUL MANSURIJharkhand Mukti Morcha3650
BIMAL ROYShivsena3373
PANKAJ KUMAR SINGHCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)2737
CHAND DEV PASWANIndependent2544
SUDAMA KUMARSarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party2242
TARUN KUMAR SINGHBahujan Samaj Party2109
SUNIL RAYRashtriya Jankranti Party1764
NAWALESH PATHAKIndependent1551
LOKESH KUMARIndependent1349
MD AFTAB ALAMJanta Dal Rashtravadi1230
SANJAY RAMIndependent1217
YOGENDRA SINGHIndependent1211
SUNIL KUMAR SINGHIndependent1109
SHRAWAN KUMAR YADAVMithilanchal Vikas Morcha1034
CHARITRA RISHIIndependent937
None of the AboveNone of the Above5982

Dhamdaha Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
61 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Dhamdaha Assembly Elections Constituency

Dhamdaha assembly segment is in Purnia district and comprises of Pothia Rampur, Banbhag Chunapur, Jagni, Bithnouli Khemchand West, Bithnouli Khemchand East, Ganeshpur, Gokulpur, Gangaili, Satkodariya, Gowasi, Sahara, Kajha, Rahuwa, Parora and Majra of Krityanand Nagar community development block and Dhamdaha CD blocks. It has a total of 2,64,683 eligible voters. There are 1,37,254 male and 1,27,426 female electors in the constituency.

Electoral History of Dhamdaha Constituency in Bihar

Dhamdaha, one of the seven assembly constituencies located in the district of Purnea in the state of Bihar, is currently held by Leshi Singh of the Janata Dal (United) who received 64323 votes to defeat Irshad Ahmad Khan of the Congress by a whopping margin of 44697 votes in the last assembly polls in 2010. In that election, the Congress candidate polled 19626 votes and was followed by the sitting Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) MLA Dilip Kumar Yadav who secured 19554 votes.

In 2010, the BJP did not field its candidate from the seat because under the terms of its alliance with the JD (U) the seat was allotted to the JD (U). However, equations have now changed. the JD (U) has snapped its ties with the BJP and joined the front that include RJD and the Congress to stop the Narendra Modi's winning spree in Bihar which will go to the polls this year.

In the assembly elections to Bihar held in the month of February in 2005, Dhamdaha assembly seat was won by Leshi Singh by defeating Dilip Kumar Yadav by a margin of 9303 votes. It is worth mentioning that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year. In 2000 too, Leshi Singh, who was in the fray as a nominee of Samata Party, the earlier avatar of JD(U), had won by defeating Dilip Kumar Yadav who was the winner as a candidate of the Janata Dal in the previous assembly elections held in 1995.

Earlier Dhamdaha assembly seat had elected Amar Nath Tiwari of the Congress in 1985 and 1990. In 1985 he had defeated the sitting MLA Surya Narayan Singh Yadav who was elected from the seat in 1980 and 1977.

Dhamdaha is one of the six five assembly segments that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Purnia which is currently represented by Santosh Kumar Kushwaha of the JD (U) who won it by defeating his nearest rival and sitting BJP MP Uday Singh by a margin of 115669 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014.

Dhamdaha Assembly Election News 2015

A safet bet for JD(U)

Updated on : Oct-18,2015

It is considered as a JD(U) seat because the Nitish-led party has been winning it for consecutive terms. In the 2010 assembly election, Leshi Singh of JD(U) had won the constituency by defeating his nearest rival Irshad Ahmad Khan of Congress. With 15% Mandals and rest are Rajputs, Dhamdaha is considered as an upper caste dominating constituency. Singh is a Rajput and she enjoys the support of her caste.

Despite the fact that people in her constituency are not at all impressed with her work, they "have no option but to vote in her favour" because the candidate − Shiv Shankar Thakur representing RLSP − is weak and is a new face in the area. Leshi Singh defeated Irshad Ahmad Khan of the Congress with a humongous margin of 44,697 votes in the 2010 election. Singh won 64,323 votes, while Khan could manage only 19,626 votes.

Dhamdaha Assembly Election Videos 2015