Dehri Assembly Elections 2015

Dehri Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
MOHAMMAD ILIYAS HUSSAINRashtriya Janata Dal49402
JITENDRA KUMAR @ RINKU SONIRashtriya Lok Samta Party45504
PRADEEP KUMAR JOSHIRashtra Sewa Dal29541
ASHOK KUMAR SINGHCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)2197
SANTOSH KUMAR PANDEYBahujan Samaj Party2154
RAJU KUMARIndependent2146
DR.(PROF.) RAJ KUMARIndependent1730
BRAJ MOHAN SINGHCommunist Party of India1723
MUNESHWAR GUPTAIndependent1280
JAGLAL YADAVShivsena1149
BIPIN BIHARI SINGHGarib Janta Dal (Secular)935
KAMAL KISHOR PALIndependent725
None of the AboveNone of the Above4458

Dehri Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
212 GEN Phase II Sep 21st 2015 Oct 16th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Dehri Constituency

Dehri is a legislative assembly constituency is located in the Rohtas district and a part of Karakat Lok Sabha constituency. There are a total of 2,55,576 eligible voters out of whom 1,37,754 are men and 1,17,817 are women. Dehri constituency comprises Dehri and Akorhi Gola community development blocks including Dehri Dalmia Nagar Parishad.

Electoral History of Dehri Constituency in Bihar

One of the seven assembly constituencies located in the Rohatas district in Bihar, Dehri is currently held by Jyoti Rashmi who won the seat in the last general assembly elections to the state in 2010 by defeating five term MLA Mohammad Iliyas Husain of the Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) by a margin of 9815 votes in a triangular contest.

While Jyoti Rashmi, who entered the fray as an independent after the rejection of the nomination papers of her husband and sitting Independent MLA Pradeep Kumar Joshi thanks to the his conviction in a case, received 43634 votes against 33819 votes polled by Mohammad Iliyas Husain, a five term MLA and former minister in the RJD government, Awadhesh Narayan Singh, a former minister in Nitish Kumar cabinet, secured 27508 votes. Jahid Pravej alais Kakku Khan of the Congress was placed fifth with 4040 votes in his kitty.

Pradeep Kumar Joshi had emerged winner from the Dehri seat in November election in 2005 by trouncing then sitting RJD Iliyas Husain by a massive margin of 43277 votes. In the previous assembly election held in February that year, the seat had gone in favour of Iliyas Husain who had also claimed the seat in 2000, 1995, 1990 and 1980. While Iliyas Husain's win in 2000 came as an RJD member, he was elected in 1990 and 1995 on the ticket of the Janata Dal. In 1980 he became victorious on the ticket of the Janata Party. While the BJP has never been able to win the Dehri assembly seat, the Congress won it last time in 1985 when its nominee Khalid Anwar Ansari defeated Iliyas Husain, then a Lok Dal nominee.

Earlier Dehri had sent prominent freedom fighter and opponent of the India's partition in 1947, Abdul Qaiyum Ansari, to the Bihar legislative assembly 1962, 1967 and 1972. The constituency has also elected another freedom fighter and trade unionist Basawon Singh a number of times. Basawon Singh's wife Kamla Sinha was a former Union minister of state (MoS) for external affairs in the I K Gujral government.

Dehri is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Karakat which is currently held by Upendra Kushwaha of the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party RLSP who had defeated RJD nominee Kanti Singh in the last general Lok Sabha elections in 2014.

Other five assembly segments that are part of Karakat parliamentary constituency are Bikramganj, Karakat, Goh, Obra and Nabinagar.

Dehri Assembly Election News 2015

RLSP springs a surprise

RLSP has fielded Rinku Soni from Dehri as part of NDA candidate. Political pundits were surprised when they saw the name of Rinku Soni as RLSP candidate from Dehri. Soni, a ward councillor and youngest candidate in the district, was never considered in local circles as a probable candidate by any party. His main rivals in the election are two seasoned politicians − RJD heavyweight and three-time MLA Iliyas Hussain and two-time Independent MLA Pradeep Joshi.

Dehri Assembly Election Videos 2015