Darbhanga Assembly Elections 2015

Darbhanga Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
SANJAY SARAOGIBharatiya Janata Party77776
OM PRAKASH KHERIARashtriya Janata Dal70316
JAGADISH SAHIndependent3609
AVINASH KUMAR THAKURCommunist Party of India (Marxist)2223
NIKHIL KUMAR JHAIndependent901
MD. IRSHAD HUSSAINNational Janta Party (Indian)734
AMEENA KHATOONNationalist Congress Party517
BHARAT YADAVIndependent457
MD.VASIM AHMADSamajwadi Party277
VIJAY SHREE PRASADRepublican Party of India (A)244
MAHENDRA LAL DASBhartiya Janhit Dal180
None of the AboveNone of the Above1216

Darbhanga Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
83 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Darbhanga Assembly Elections Constituency

Darbhanga is a Lok Sabha as well as a legislative assembly constituency in the same same district. It comprises Sahbajpur, Kabir Chak, Basudeopur, Kansi, Shisho West, Shisho East, Ranipur and Sara Mahamad gram panchayat of Darbhanga community development block and the Municipal Corporation of Darbhanga. A total of 2,57,754 people in Darbhanga assembly segment have the right to vote. Amongst these 1,38,693 are men and 1,19,055 are women.

Electoral History of Darbhanga Constituency in Bihar

  One of the ten assembly constituencies located in the district of the same name in Bihar, Darbhanga is currently held by Sanjay Saraogi of the BJP who had won it in the last assembly polls to Bihar in 2010 by defeating his nearest rival Sultan Ahmad of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by an impressive margin of 27554 votes.

   In that election, Sanjay Saraogi, who had also won both the elections in 2005 as BJP candidate, polled 64136 votes, Sultan Ahmad, a former RJD legislator, received 36582 votes and was followed by Qamrul Hassan of the Congress who secured 7561 votes and forfeited his deposit.

  The BJP rebel Vijay Kumar Choudhry alias Bhola Choudhry who entered the fray as an Independent was relegated to the fourth place with 2768 votes. In the assembly elections in 2010, four assembly seats in the Darbhanga district were contested by the JD(U), while the remaining six seats were allotted to the its then ally BJP.

  In 2005, while in February elections, Sanjay Saraogi had defeated his nearest rival Md. Mumtaz Alam of the RJD, in the next assembly elections in October/November, his nearest rival was Dr. Madan Mohan Jha of the Congress. Sultan Ahmad had won the Darbhanga assembly seat in 2000 by trouncing the incumbent BJP MLA Shiv Nath Verma who had emerged victorious in 1995. Shiv Nath Verma also claimed the seat in 1977 as a nominee of the Janata Party.

  Darbhanga is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Darbhanga which is currently represented by Kiriti Azad of the BJP who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

  Other five assembly constituencies that are parts of the Darbhanga parliamentary seat are Alinagar, Gaura Bauram, Benipur, Darbhanga Rural and Bahdurpur.

Darbhanga Assembly Election News 2015

RJD faces anti-Lalu opposition

Updated on : Oct-19,2015

Mithu Kedia of RJD will be taking on the sitting MLA Sanjay Sarabagi of BJP here. Sanjay Saraogi won 64,136 votes in the 2010 assembly election and defeated RJD's Sultan Ahmad who got 36,582 votes. There is strong sentiments against RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav's comment that Hindus too eat beef. As voters are polarised on caste basis, youths and women voters will play a decisive role in tipping the winning scale.

Darbhanga Assembly Election Videos 2015