Daraundha Assembly Elections 2015

Daraundha Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
KAVITA SINGHJanata Dal (United)66255
JITENDRA SWAMIBharatiya Janata Party53033
GANESH RAMBahujan Samaj Party4001
JAYSHANKAR PANDITCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)2681
JAY PRAKASH YADAVIndependent1484
ASHWATTHAMA YADAVGarib Janta Dal (Secular)1117
SHAILENDR KUMAR TIWARIJharkhand Mukti Morcha575
SANJIV KUMARBhartiya New Sanskar Krantikari Party573
SYED IQBAL HUSSAINRashtriya Samanta Dal446
None of the AboveNone of the Above8983

Daraundha Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
109 GEN Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Daraundha Assembly Elections Constituency

Daraunda assembly constituency is in Siwan district. It has a total of 2,67,066 eligible voters amonst them 1,40,923 are men and 1,26,138 are women. Daraundha assembly constituency would comprise Siswan community development block; Daraundha community development block; and Harpur Kotwa, Phalpura, Rajanpura, Laheji, Pakadi, Mandrauli, Hasanpura, Mandarapali, Telkhthu and Sahuli gram panchayats of Hassanpura community development block.

Electoral History of Daraundha Constituency in Bihar

One of the eight assembly segments located in the Siwan district of Bihar, Daraundha assembly constituency is currently being represented by Kavita Singh who won the seat for the Janata Dal (united) by defeating her nearest Rahstirya Janata Dal (RJD) rival Prameshwar Singh by a margin of 20,092 votes in a byepoll held on 13th October in 2011, necessitated due to the death of the sitting JD (U) MLA Jagmato Devi in June that year.

In that election, while Kavita Singh, daughter-in-law of Jagmato Devi, polled 51,754 votes, the RJD nominee received 31,662 votes. Kalika Sharan Singh of the Congress and the CPI (M-L) nominee Jainath Yadav came third and fourth securing just 4238 and 3754 votes respectively

In the last general assembly elections to Bihar held in 2010, Daraundha went in favour of Jagmato Devi who had emerged victorious from the seta by defeating her nearest RJD rival Binod Kumar Singh by a huge margin of 31135 votes. While 49115 votes were polled in favour of Jagmato Devi, Binod Kumar Singh received 17980 votes and was followed by Vijay Shankar Dubey of the Congress who secured 8399 votes.

Jagmato Devi had earlier emerged victorious from Raghunathpur assembly seat in both the elections held in 2005. It is pertinent to note that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in that year because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year. While her win in February came as an Independent candidate, she contested the November poll on the ticket of the Janata Dal (United).

Daraundha, which came into existence before the 2010 assembly polls, is one of the six assembly segments that combine to for the parliamentary constituency of Siwan currently represented by Om Prakash Yadav of the BJP who retained the seat for himself by defeating his nearest rival Hena Shahab of the RJD by a margin of 113784 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014. While former CPIML MLA from Darauli, Amar Nath Yadav, came third with 81,006 votes, the JD (U) candidate Manoj Kumar Singh was relegated to the fourth place with 79,239 votes.

Daraundha Assembly Election News 2015

A tough test for JD(U) MLA

Updated on : Oct-9,2015

JD(U) sitting MLA Kavita Singh will be facing a litmus test in Daraundha with Jitendra Sawami of BJP proving to be a tough contender. Kavita is wife of Ajay Singh, a criminal having more than 50 cases pending against him. Ajay's mother Jagmato Devi, a JD(U) MLA from Daraundha, died in July 2011. Jagmato Devi got the honour of being the first ever MLA of Daraundha, when she won the seat with 49,115 votes in the 2010 assembly elections. She defeated RJD's Binod Kumar Singh by a margin of 31,135 votes.
In the byelection for the seat on October 13, 2011, Ajay's wife Kavita Singh was given the ticket by CM Nitish Kumar as he wanted to keep off the notorious don from electoral politics. But in reality Kavita is only a surrogate and the real power as MLA is wielded by her husband Ajay Singh.

Daraundha Assembly Election Videos 2015