Darauli Assembly Election 2015

Darauli Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
SATYADEO RAMCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)49576
RAMAYAN MANJHIBharatiya Janata Party39992
PARMATMA RAMRashtriya Janata Dal37345
MIRA DEVIIndependent2593
BIMALESH KUMAR RAMBahujan Samaj Party1697
MANOJ RAMJammu & Kashmir National Panthers Party1617
RAM EK BAL BAITHASwatantra Samaj Party1564
None of the AboveNone of the Above4618

Darauli Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
107 (SC) Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Darauli Assembly Elections Constituency

Darauli legislative assembly segment is a part of the Siwan Lok Sabha constituency. It is reserved for the candidates belonging to the Scheduled Casts (SC). There are a total of 2,65,475 eligiable voters of whom 1,42,991 are men and 1,22,482 women. Darauli legislative assembly constituency comprises Andar, Guthani and Darauli community development blocks.

Electoral History of Darauli Constituency in Bihar

One of the eight assembly constituencies located in the district of Siwan in Bihar, Darauli was won by Ramayan Manjhi of the BJP in the last assembly elections to the state in 2010 by defeating his nearest rival and former CPI(ML) MLA Satyadeo Ram by a margin of 13465 votes. In that election while Ramayan Manjhi polled 40993 votes, Satyadeo Ram received 33987 votes and was followed by Sheo Kumar Manjhi of the Ramvilas Paswan led Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) who received 33987 votes.

While in October 2005 election, Ramayan Manjhi had defeated Satyadeo Ram from the erstwhile Mairwa assembly seat, Satyadeo Ram had won the February polls.

From 1985, Darauli, which became a reserved seat for candidate belonging to scheduled castes before the 2010 elections, has been witnessing contest between Amar Nath Yadav and Shiv Shankar Yadav. While Shiv Shankar Yadav emerged victorious from the seta in 1985, 1990 and 2000, Amar Nath Yadav was elected in 1995 and both the elections in 2005 on the ticket of the CPI (ML).

Amar Nath Yadav did not contest the seat in 2010 as it was made a reserved seat. He unsuccessfully contested the Raghunathpur assembly seat in 2010 when he lost to Vikram Kumar of the BJP. He also lost the 2014 Lok Sabha election from Siwan parliamentary constituency.

Darauli is one of the six assembly segments that combine to for the parliamentary constituency of Siwan currently represented by Om Prakash Yadav of the BJP who retained the seat for himself by defeating his nearest rival Hena Shahab of the RJD by a margin of 113784 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014. While former CPIML MLA from Darauli, Amar Nath Yadav, came third with 81,006 votes, the JD (U) candidate Manoj Kumar Singh was relegated to the fourth place with 79,239 votes.

Om Prakash Yadav had won the seat in 2009 as an Independent candidate. He was defeated by Shahabuddin, the strongman of Siwan, in 2004 when he entered the fray on the ticket of the Janata Dal (United). Hena Shahab is the wife of Shahabuddin.

Darauli Assembly Election News 2015

A close race on cards

Updated on : Oct-9,2015

Sitting BJP MLA Ramyan Manjhi is being contested by Parmatma Ram of RJD in Darauli. It will be close race as both the candidates will try to woo Dalits and Mahadalits in this reserved constituency. They will also seek votes from the majority (and powerful) communities in the OBCs including Yadavs and Kurmis. Darauli is a part of the Siwan LS constituency.
The constituency is reserved for the candidates belonging to the Scheduled Casts (SC). The voters of Darauli elected BJP's Ramayan Manjhi as their representative in 2010 assembly elections. Manjhi got 40,993 votes and defeated Satyadeo Ram of CPI (ML) who got 33,987 votes.

Darauli Assembly Election Videos 2015