Danapur Assembly Elections 2015

Danapur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
ASHA DEVIBharatiya Janata Party72192
RAJ KISHOR YADAVRashtriya Janata Dal66983
TINKU YADAVIndependent13002
AKASH KUMARBharatiya Momin Front1518
RITESH KUMARIndependent1446
MOHAMMAD SALIMIndependent825
YOGENDRA KUMAR RAYBharatiya Jan Kranti Dal (Democratic)592
SUSHMA SINHAGareeb Aadmi Party582
RAMA DHAR SINGHJawan Kisan Morcha485
None of the AboveNone of the Above3267

Danapur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
186 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Danapur Assembly Elections Constituency

Danapur is a legislative assembly constituency in the Patna district of Bihar. It belongs to the Pataliputra Lok Sabha constituency. Danapur segment consists of Khagaul and Danapur community development blocks. A total of 2,89,045 people from the Danapur legislative assembly segment as eligible voters, amongst them 1,58,417 were males and 1,30,616 were females.

Electoral History of Danapur Constituency in Bihar

With about half of the voters in this constituency belonging to the Yadav castes, Danapur has never elected a non-Yadav candidate since 1960s. located in the Patna district of Bihar Danapur had elected in the last general assembly polls to the state in 2010 Asha Devi of the BJP who retained the seat by defeating his nearest Independent rival Ritlal Rai by a narrow margin of 17919 votes. While 59425 votes were polled in favour of Asha Devi, Ritlal Rai, a notorious criminal alleged to have killed Asha Devi�s husband, secured 41506 votes. Sachchida Nand Rai of the Lalu Prasad�s Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) was relegated to the third place with 11495 votes and was followed by the Congress candidate Vijay Singh Yadav who obtained 3608 votes.

Earlier Asha Devi had been elected from Danapur assembly seat in both the elections in 2005. On both the occasions her nearest rival was Ramanand Yadav of the RJD. It is pertinent to note that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

A party-hopper, Ramanand Yadav was elected from the Danapur assembly constituency in a byepoll held in 2002 by defeating Satyanarayan Sinha alias Satyanarayan Yadav of the BJP. The byelection was necessitated as Lalu Prasad vacated the seat after becoming member of the Rajya Sabha. Lalu Yadav had defeated Ramanand Yadav, then a BJP nominee, in the previous assembly elections in 2000. Ramanand Yadav was also defeated in a byelection in 1996 by Vijay Singh Yadav of the BJP who later joined the RJD. Vijay Singh Yadav had lost to Lalu in 1995. Ramanand Yadav is currently the sitting RJD MLA from Fatuha assembly seat.

Former Union minister Ram Lakhan Singh Yadav popularly known as Sher-e- Bihar, was elected from the seat in 1977 on the ticket of the Congress.

Danapur is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Pataliputra which is currently held by Union minister Ram Kripal Yadav who had defeated Misa Bharti, daughter of Lalu Yadav, by 40,322 votes in the last general Lok Sabha elections in 2014. The sitting JD (U) MP Ranjan Prasad Yadav, who had defeated Lalu in 2009, was relegated to the third place.

Other five assembly segments that are part of Pataliputra parliamentary constituency are Bikram, Maner, Phulwari, Masaurhi and Paliganj.

Danapur Assembly Election News 2015

Local gangster wields power

Updated on : Oct-4,2015

BJP candidate from Danapur Asha Sinha Devi is facing a challenge from Rajkishore Yadav of RJD. A part of rural belt of Patna district, the area suffers from a plethora of civic woes like lack of piped water supply, poor roads and good hospitals. Notorious gangster and former RJD legislator Ritlal Yadav was elected to the legislative council as an Independent candidate. He hails from village Kothwan in Danapur area. Ritlal's importance in the polls was underscored when RJD chief Lalu Prasad visited his home, apparently to seek support for his daughter in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls. He has been booked on murder, extortion and kidnapping for ransom charges. The Enforcement Directorate (ED) has already confiscated Ritlal's property amassed allegedly through criminal activities.

Danapur Assembly Election Videos 2015