Chiraiya Assembly Elections 2015

Chiraiya Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
LAL BABU PRASAD GUPTA Bharatiya Janata Party Won
LAXMI NARAYAN PRASAD YADAV Rashtriya Janata Dal 58457
AVANEESH KUMAR SINGH Samajwadi Party 12172
OM PRAKASH Bahujan Samaj Party 4531
HIRALAL RAY Independent 1754
ARUN SINGH Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 1559
SATRUDHAN SINGH Independent 1327
RANJIT SAH Independent 805
HARENDRA PRASAD YADAV Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 618
IMTIYAZUL HAQUE Independent 608
DILIP KUMAR Independent 516
VISHAL SINHA Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 486
None of the Above None of the Above 2418

Chiraiya Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
20 GEN Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Chiraiya Assembly Elections Constituency

Chiraiyaassembly segment is located in the eastern Champaran district. It covers the community development blocks of Patahi and Chiraiya. The assembly constituency of Chiraiyais home to a total of 2,46,242 voters of whom 1,32,388 men and 1,13,857 women. The Chiraiyaassembly segment lies in the Sheohar Lok Sabha constituency.

Electoral History of Chiraiya Constituency in Bihar

Chiraia, which came into being before the last general assembly elections in Bihar in 2010, is currently held by Avaneesh Kumar Singh who had won the seat in 2010 by Laxmi Narayan Yadav of the Lalu Yadav led Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) by a margin of 14828 votes. While Avaneesh Kumar Singh who entered the fray as a BJP candidate received 39459 votes, Laxmi Narayan Yadav polled 24631 votes and was followed by Manoj Kumar Singh of the Congress with 20287 votes.

Avaneesh Kumar Singh, who later joined the JD (U) after severing his relationship with the BJP, had unsuccessfully contest the Purvi Champaran Lok Sabha constituency in 2014 parliamentary elections on the ticket of the former.The JD (U) did not nominate any candidate to contest the assembly election to the newly created Chiraiyaseat in 2010 because it went to the polls in alliance with the BJP at that time. However, as things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways and the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), the ally of the RJD in the last assembly elections, is now a part of the BJP led NDA, the ruling dispensation at the Centre.

Earlier Avaneesh Kumar Singh had been elected from the Dhaka assembly seat as a BJP candidate in 1990, 1995, and in both the February and November polls in 2005. It is pertinent to note that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year. Manoj Kumar Singh had also won the Dhaka assembly seat in 2000 as an RJD nominee by defeating Avaneesh Kumar Singh.

Located in the Purbi Champaran district of Bihar, Chiraiyais one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Sheohar which is currently represented by Rama Devi of the BJP who retained the seat BY Defeating former Sheohar MP and RJD candidate Mohammad Anwarul Haque in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Other five assembly constituencies that fall under the Sheohar Lok Sabha seat are .Madhuban, Dhaka, Sheohar, Riga and Belsand.

Chiraiya Assembly Election News 2015

Money power to the fore

Updated on : Oct-8,2015

Laxmi Narayan Yadav of RJD is locking horns with Lal Babu Prasad Gupta of BJP in this constituency. Chiraiyain East Champaran district is one of 62 constituencies identified by the Election Commission for the high possibility of unaccounted money being used by candidates to woo voters. The sitting MLA is Avaneesh Kumar Singh of BJP. Singh won 39,459 votes in the November 2010 election beating RJD's Laxmi Narayan Prasad Yadav who got 24,631 votes. The Chiraiyaassembly segment lies in the Sheohar Lok Sabha constituency.

Chiraiya Assembly Election Videos 2015