Chhatapur Assembly Elections 2015

Chhatapur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
NIRAJ KUMAR SINGH Bharatiya Janata Party Won
JAHUR ALAM Rashtriya Janata Dal 66405
AQUEEL AHMAD Bahujan Samaj Party 4135
DEEPAK KUMAR SAH Shivsena 3200
MD. AKBAR ALI Independent 3167
SANJAY KUMAR MISHRA Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 2779
NITU KUMARI Communist Party of India (Marxist) 2570
BISHNUDEV PASWAN Independent 2383
RAMSUNDAR MUKHIYA Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 1568
BIPIN KUMAR YADAV Proutist Bloc, India 988
None of the Above None of the Above 4041

Chhatapur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
45 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Chhatapur Assembly Elections Constituency

Chhatapur assembly constituency is in Supaul district is part of Supaul Lok Sabha constituency. It comprises of Chhatapur and Basantpur community development blocks.

Electoral History of Chhatapur Constituency in Bihar

One of the five assembly segments located in the Supaul district of Bihar, Chhatapur assembly constituency is currently held by Neeraj Kumar Singh of the Janata Dal (United) who won the seat in 2010 general assembly polls to the Bihar Legislative assembly by defeating Akeel Ahmad of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by a good margin of 23730 votes. While Neeraj Kumar Singh polled 66895 votes, the RJD nominee received 43165 votes and was distantly followed by Gulab Chand Paswan of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) with 5334 votes.

Shah Jamaal, who entered the fray as a candidate of the Congress, was relegated to the fourth place with 4391 votes. Neeraj Kumar Singh's legislative assembly membership has been terminated by the Bihar Assembly Speaker.

The BJP had claimed 91 seats in the last assembly polls in Bihar in 2010 and its ally at that time Janata Dal (United) emerged victorious from 115 assembly constituencies.

Chhatapur, which was a reserved seat for scheduled castes before 2010 assembly elections, was won by Vishwa Mohan Bharti of JD(U) who won the assembly election to the seat in October in 2005 by defeating the sitting RJD MLA Mahendra Narayan Sardar who had defeated him in the previous assembly elections held in February in that year. It is worth mentioning that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

Vishwa Mohan Bharti had also won the Chhatapur assembly seat in 1995 on the ticket of the Janata Dal (United). He was defeated in the next assembly elections held in 2000 by the RJD's Gita Devi. After Gita Devi's death, which necessitated the byelection to the seat in 2000, her husband Gauri Shankar Sardar was elected from the seat in the byepoll.

Chhatapur is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Supaul which is currently represented by Ranjita Ranjan of the Congress who won the seat by defeating his nearest rival Dileshwar Kamait of the JD (U) by a margin of 59672 votes in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. Ranjita Ranjan is the wife of Pappu Yadav who was elected on the ticket of the RJD from Madhepura in 2014.

Chhatapur Assembly Election News 2015

Updated on : Oct-8,2015

Mohammed Akbar Ali of RJD will be taking on sitting MLA Neeraj Kumar Singh Bablu of BJP. He won electon in 2010 as JD(U) candidate. Neeraj Singh quit JD(U) and joined BJP ahead of election. BJP cadres were upset as the party had given ticket to a sitting JD(U) MLA on whom a number of criminal cases were pending against him. Chhatapur is represented in the assembly by Neeraj Kumar of JD(U), who occupied the seat having won the 2010 assembly election with 66,895 votes.
He defeated RJD's Akeel Ahmad with a big margin of 23,730 votes. The assembly segment of Chhatapur is a part of the Supaul Lok Sabha constituency.

Chhatapur Assembly Election Videos 2015