Cheria Bariarpur Assembly Elections 2015

Cheria Bariarpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
KUMARI MANJU VERMA Janata Dal (United) Won
ANIL KUMAR CHAUDHARY Lok Jan Shakti Party 40059
MD. ABDUL HAFIZ KHAN Communist Party of India 8092
RAJ KISHOR YADAV Rashtravadi Janata Party 3168
SARJAN SAHANI Bahujan Mukti Party 2682
LAXMI MAHTO Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 2513
PRADIP PASWAN Independent 1890
RAKESH KUMAR VARAMA Independent 1839
ARUN PASWAN Bahujan Samaj Party 1634
RAM SEWAK MAHTO Samras Samaj Party 1153
None of the Above None of the Above 5740

Cheria Bariarpur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
141 GEN Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Cheria Bariarpur Assembly Elections Constituency

Cheria-Bariarpur legislative assembly constituency is part of Begusarai Lok Sabha constituency. It is composed of the following: Cheria-Bariarpur, Khodabandpur and Chaurahi community development blocks; Pahsara (West) and Maheshwara gram panchayats of Nawkothi CD Block.

Electroal History of Cheria Bariarpur Constituency in Bihar

One of the seven assembly constituencies located in the Begusarai district of Bihar, Cheria Bariarpur is currently held by Manju Verma of the Janata Dal (United) who won the seat by defeating her nearest rival and sitting Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) MLA Anil Kumar Chaudhary by a margin of 1061 votes in the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2010.

In the assembly election to Cheria Bariarpur in 2010, while Manju Verma received 32807 votes, Anil Kumar Chaudhary polled 31746 votes and was followed by independent candidate Sudarshan Singh with 14581 votes.

   Communist Party of India (CPI), which has a considerable influence in the Begusarai district, had nominated Usha Sahni who came fourth by securing 13450 votes. Chunchun Kumar of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and Ram Pravesh Mahto of the Congress were relegated to the fifth and sixth places respectively.

Earlier both the elections to Cheria Bariarpur assembly seat in 2005 had elected Anil Kumar Chaudhary. He won both the elections as a nominee of the Lak Janashakti Party (LJP). In 2000, Anil Kumar Chaudhary, who was then in fray as a JD (U) nominee, had lost to Ashok Kumar of the RJD.

   The Congress has won the Cheria Bariarpur seat last time in 1985 when its nominee Harihar Mahto had emerged winner by defeating the outgoing CPI MLA Sukhdeo Mahto who had claimed the seat in the previous assembly elections held in 1980. . A minister in the Bindeshwari Dubey led Congress government, Harihar Mahto was also elected in 1977 on the ticket of the Congress.

Cheria Bariarpur has also been represented by Janata Dal MLA Ram Jeewan Singh from 1990 to 2000. Jeewan Singh was a minister in the Lalu led Janata Dal government.

   Cheria Bariarpur is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Begusarai which is currently represented by Bhola Singh of the BJP who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections that elected the Narendra Modi government at the centre.

   Other six assembly constituencies that fall under the Begusarai Lok Sabha seat are Teghra, Bakhri, Bachhwara, Matihani, Sahebpur Kamal and Begusarai.

Cheria Bariarpur Assembly Election News 2015

Farmers, fishermen are upset over the neglect of Kanwar lake

Updated on : Sep-29,2015

Farmers, fishermen and environmental activists in Cheriabariarpur (and Bakhri) assembly segment in Begusarai district are upset over the neglect of Kanwar lake, the largest fresh water oxbow lake in Asia.The issue of Kanwar Lake has come to the fore in this election.Residents blame the successive governments over not taking steps to desilt the lake bed and remove encroachments of this huge water body.

Cheria Bariarpur Assembly Election Videos 2015