Chenari Assembly Elections 2015

Chenari Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
LALAN PASWAN Rashtriya Lok Samta Party Won
MANGAL RAM Indian National Congress 58367
RAMENDRA RAM Bahujan Samaj Party 5455
AMAN KUMAR Independent 2589
RAVI PASWAN Samajwadi Party 1752
MAHENDRA BAITHA Independent 1369
CHINTA DEVI Rashtra Sewa Dal 1240
BIPIN RAM Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 854
RAMASHISH RAM Shoshit Samaj Dal 659
RAVISHANKAR PRASAD Janvadi Party(Socialist) 533
PRADEEP KUMAR Bahujan Mukti Party 421
None of the Above None of the Above 8876

Chenari Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
207 (SC) Phase II Sep 21st 2015 Oct 16th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Chenari Assembly Elections Constituency

Chenari is located in the Rohtas district and a part of the Sasaram (SC) Lok Sabha constituency . There is a total of 2,56,053 people of the Chenari assembly constituency, out of whom 1,38,050 are males and 1,18,002 are females. Only the candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes (SCs) are eligible to contest for the Chenari assembly seat. The Chenari legislative assembly segment comprises Alampur, Raipurchor, Karup, Konki, Kumahu, Mohammadpur, Nad, Sikraur, Sheosagar, Sonahar and Uloh gram panchayats of Sheosagar community development block; Nauhatta community development block; Rohtas community development block; and Chenari community development block.

Electoral History of Chenari Constituency in Bihar

One of the seven assembly segments located in the Rohtas district of Bihar, Chenari is currently held by Shyam Bihari Ram of the Janata Dal (United) who wrested the seat from the Congress by defeating his nearest rival and the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) nominee Lalan Paswan by a somewhat low margin of 2901 votes in 2010 general assembly polls to the Bihar Legislative assembly.

In 2010 assembly elections to Chenari, while Shyam Bihari Ram received 44586 votes, Lalan Paswan, a former JD (U) MLA from Chenari, got 41685 votes and was followed by then sitting Congress MLA Murari Prasad Gautam who got 21390 votes.

Ramendra Ram, who entered the fray as a nominee of the Mayawati led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), was placed fourth with 9111 votes.

Murari Prasad Gautam was elected from the Chenari assembly constituency in a byepoll to the seat in 2009 by defeating Lalan Paswan of the RJD who had resigned from the seat after switching his loyalty from JD (U) to unsuccessfully contest the Lok Sabha elections. Lalan Paswan had won the previous assembly elections to the seat in October/November 2005 and February on the ticket of the JD (U).

Earlier Chenari was won by Chhedi Paswan, the current BJP MP from Sasaram, in 2000 on the ticket of the RJD. He had won the Mohania assembly seat in October/November in 2010 on the ticket of the JD (U). he had defected to the BJP before the 2014 general parliamentary elections. Chhedi Paswan was also a minister in RJD government before switching over to JD (U) in 2005. He had also claimed the Chenari seat in 1985 as a nominee of the Lok Dal.

Chenari is one of the six assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of Sasaram which is currently represented by Chhedi Paswan of the BJP who won it by defeating the sitting Congress MP and former Speaker Meira Kumar in 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Other assembly segments located in the Lok Sabha constituency of Sasaram are Bhabua, Mohania, Chainpur, Sasaram and Kargahar.

Chenari Assembly Election News 2015

Congress fields greenhorn

Congress has fielded a fresher from Chenari reserved seat of Rohtas district. Its candidate Mangal Ram, a former block pramukh, is leaving no stone unturned to win the seat. Sasaram MP Chhedi Paswan of BJP was upset over the denial of poll ticket to his son Ravi Paswan. He accused the BJP leadership of not being even-handed in the treatment of wards of its senior leaders. Since then, his son has jumped ship and will be contesting the election as a Samajwadi Party nominee from Chenari. RLSP which is part of NDA front has fielded Lalan Paswan from Chenari.

Chenari Assembly Election Videos 2015