Chapra Assembly Elections 2015

Chapra Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
DR. C.N. GUPTA Bharatiya Janata Party Won
RANDHIR KUMAR SINGH Rashtriya Janata Dal 60267
UDIT RAI Independent 5707
KANHAIYA SINGH Independent 5176
SUBHASH RAI Bahujan Samaj Party 3969
VINOD KUMAR TIWARY Independent 1092
RAJNARAYAN GUPTA Aap Aur Hum Party 772
LALAN PRASAD Independent 621
RAMJEE SINGH Independent 572
RAM NATH RAI Independent 558
PARMESHWAR KUMAR Independent 504
MANAUAR HUSSAIN Bharatiya Momin Front 379
None of the Above None of the Above 3488

Chapra Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
118 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Chapra Assembly Elections Constituency

  Chapra is a legislative assembly constituency is located in the Saran district and is a part of the Saran Lok Sabha constituency. The Chapra assembly segment has a large electorate of around 2,80,075 eligible voters, amongst whom 1,53,790 are men and 1,26,284 are women.

   It covers Rivilganj community development block; and Chapra municipality and Barhara Mahaji, Naini, Tenua, Karinga, Mouna and Sadha gram panchayats of Chapra community development block.

Electoral History of Chapra Constituency in Bihar

  One of the ten assembly segments located in the Saran district in Bihar, Chapra assembly constituency is currently being represented by the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) legislator Randheer Kumar Singh who wrested the seat from the BJP by defeating its candidate and his nearest independent rival Dr C N Gupta by a margin of by 24,106 votes in a byepoll held on 21st August in 2014, necessitated due to the election of its sitting BJP MLA Janardan Singh Sigriwal to the Lok Sabha from the Maharajganj parliamentary constituency. The BJP Kanhaiya Singh was relegated to the third place. Dr C N Gupta is a retired civil surgeon and RSS activist who entered the fray after being denied ticket of the BJP.

  Randheer Kumar Singh is the son of former Maharajganj RJD MP Prabhunath Singh. Out of the ten assembly seats that went to the polls in the bye-elections which took place after the Lok Sabha elections, the BJP won 4 whereas the RJD and the JD (U) was victorious on 3 and 2 seats respectively. The Congress won the Bhagalpur seats.

  In the last general assembly elections to the Bihar legislative assembly in 2010, Chapra was won by Janardan Singh Sigriwal who had defeated Pramendra Ranjan Singh by a big margin of 35871 votes. In that election, while 61045 voters were polled in favour of Sigriwal, the RJD nominee had received 25174 votes.

  Chapra assembly seat was won by Ram Parvash Rai of the JD(U) in both the elections in 2005. On both the occasions, his nearest rival was Udit Rai of the RJD who had earlier emerged victorious from the seat thrice in a row. While Udit Rai, a former RJD minister, claimed the seat in 1990 as an independent, his wins in 1995 and 2000 came as nominees of the Janata Dal and RJD respectively. Ram Parvash Rai had unsuccessfully contested the Taraiya assembly seat in 2010 on the ticket of the RJD. He is again with the JD (U).

  Chapra is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Saran which is currently represented by BJP Union minister Rajiv Pratap Rudy who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections by trouncing former Bihar Chief Minister Rabri Devi by a margin of 40,948 votes.

  Other five assembly constituencies that are parts of the Saran parliamentary seat are Marhaura, Garkha, Amnour, Parsa and Sonepur.

Chapra Assembly Election News 2015

Lalu's popularity fades

Updated on : Oct-5,2015

  Former MP and RJD MLA Prabhunath Singh’s son Randhir Kumar Singh who had won the Chapra bypoll on an RJD ticket has been fielded from Chhapra again.

  C.N Gupta of BJP will pose a tough challenge to Randhir in Chapra which is part of Saran district.

  Saran district is considered the pocket borough of RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav as his family's influence run deep in this district.

  But in the Lok Sabha polls 2014 and in the assembly elections 2010, Lalu Yadav's party candidates lost badly to the rivals.

  As people get disenchanted with the caste politics, issues like development and social progress are given more importance in Chapra.

Chapra Assembly Election Videos 2015