Chanpatia Assembly Elections 2015

Chanpatia Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
PRAKASH RAI Bharatiya Janata Party Won
N. N. SAHI Janata Dal (United) 60840
OM PRAKASH KRANTI Communist Party of India 10136
MANISH KUMAR PRASAD Independent 6446
BASANT SINGH Independent 5254
MOHAMMAD JAHANGIR Bahujan Samaj Party 2546
MUKTI NATH UPADHYAYA Samajwadi Party 2523
MUNNA SINGH Independent 1307
LATIF MIYAN Gareeb Aadmi Party 830
None of the Above None of the Above 4506

Chanpatia Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
7 GEN Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Chanpatia Assembly Elections Constituency

Chanpatia legislative segment is in western Champaran district and is a part of the same Lok Sabha constituency. Chanpatia comprises Chanpatia community development block; Gram Panchayats- Ratanmala. Chanayan Bandh, Mahana Gani, , Sarisawa, Harpur Garawa, Barawa Semaraghat, Dumari, Dhokarahan, Baithania Bhanachak, Mahanwa Rampurwa and Nautan Khurd of Majhaulia CD Block. There are 2,21,589 eligible voters, of whom there are 1,20,408 male and 1,01,171 female voters.

Electoral History of Chanpatia Constituency in Bihar

One of the nine assembly constituencies located in the Paschim Champaran district of Bihar, Chanpatia is currently held by Chander Mohan Rai of the BJP who won the seat as a BJP candidate in the last Bihar assembly polls in 2010 by defeating his nearest rival Ejaj Hussain of the Bahujan Samaj party (BSP) by a handsome margin of 23412 votes. While 44835 votes were polled in favour of Chander Mohan Rai, the BSP candidate received 21423 votes and was followed by Tribhuvan Prasad Sharma of the Congress who got 9131 votes.

The Ram Vilas Paswan led Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), which was an ally of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) in 2010, had fielded Shekh Sharfuddin who came fourth with 7623 votes.

Earlier, Chander Mohan Rai was elected from the Ramnagar assembly seat in 1990, 2000 and in both the elections in 2005. In 2010 Chander Mohan Rai shifted to the Chanpatia assembly seat as Ramnagar was made a reserved seat following the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission.

As things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways and the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), the ally of the RJD in the last assembly elections, is now a part of the BJP led NDA, the ruling dispensation at the Centre. The RJD, the JD (U) and the Congress have come together to check the BJP.

In both the assembly elections to Chanpatia in 2005, Satish Chandra Dubey of the BJP had emerged victorious. Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year. Satish Chandra Dubey had contested the 2010 assembly elections from Narkatiaganj and won it. He resigned the seat in 1014 after his election to the Lok Sabha from the Valmiki Nagar parliamentary constituency in the last parliamentary polls in 2014.

Chanpatia is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Paschim Champaran which is currently represented by Sanjay Jaiswal of the BJP who won the seat by defeating his nearest JD(U) Prakash Jha by a margin of 1,10,254 votes in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Chanpatia Assembly Election News 2015

Tough battle on cards

Updated on : Oct-8,2015

Prakash Rai from BJP is facing a tough battle here with N.N. Sahi of JD(U) being his main opponent. A local BJP leader Vijay Nath Tiwari was keen to contest the polls from Chanpatia assembly constituency. But he was denied ticket by the BJP. To show his displeasure, Tiwari marched to the party office along with a group of donkeys saying those running the show were behaving like asses. Chandra Mohan Rai of BJP is the sitting MLA of the constituency, who defeated BSP's Ejaj Hussain by a big margin of over 23,000 votes in the November 2010 elections.

Chanpatia Assembly Election Videos 2015