Chakai Assembly Elections 2015

Chakai Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
SAVITRI DEVI Rashtriya Janata Dal WON
SUMIT KUMAR SINGH Independent 34951
VIJAY KUMAR SINGH Lok Jan Shakti Party 28535
JOWANA HANSDA Bahujan Samaj Party 11068
VIRENDRA KUMAR Independent 5470
NEPALI SINGH Jharkhand Mukti Morcha 4532
DHARMENDRA SINHA Loktantrik Sarvjan Samaj Party 2548
MANOJ KUMAR PANDEY Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 2309
ABHINAV SINGH Independent 1782
NANDU YADAV Independent 1343
RAJENDRA YADAV Sarvhara Dal 1121
None of the Above None of the Above 7379

Chakai Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
243 GEN Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Chakai Assembly Elections Constituency

Chakai is a part of the Jamui (SC) Lok Sabha segment of the state. Chakai and community development blocks are the areas covered by the Chakai assembly constituency The constituency is home to a total of 2,48,545 eligible voters, out of whom 1,32,361 are men and 1,16,178 are women.

Electoral History of Chakai Constituency in Bihar

Sumit Kumar Singh, who won the Chakai assembly seat in the last general assembly elections to Bihar on the ticket of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) but later joined the Janata Dal (United), is the sitting MLA from the constituency. In that election, Sumit Kumar Singh polled 21809 votes to defeat his nearest Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) rival Bijay Kumar Singh by a narrow margin of 188 votes. Bijay Kumar Singh, who received 21621 votes, was followed by Phalguni Prasad Yadav, then incumbent BJP legislator, who obtained 20261 votes.

A Maoist, Prithwiraj Hembrom alias Pouluce Hembrom, who contested on a Bahujan Samaj Party ticket, came forth with 16427 votes.

Sumit Kumar Singh, son of JD (U) minister Narendra Singh, was the only legislator who was elected on the ticket of the JMM in 2010. A prominent politician of Bihar known for his shrewdness, Narendra Singh had actively supported Jitan Ram Majhi in the recent political drama of Bihar in which Nitish Kumar once again became the Chief Minister.

In November 2005 elections, Chakai had elected Phalguni Prasad Yadav who won the seat as a nominee of the BJP by trouncing Arjun Mandal of the JD (U) by a margin of 5683 votes. In the previous assembly elections held in February 2005, Phalguni Yadav had lost to Abhay Singh of LJP. Son of Narendra Singh, Abhay Singh had won the November 2005 elections on the ticket of the JD (U). Abhay Singh had shot dead his six-month-old daughter and his wife before killing himself in 2010.

In 2000 Phalguni Yadav had lost to Narendra Singh who won the Chakai seat as an independent. Narendra Singh had also won the Jamui assembly seat in the same elections on the ticket of the JD (U). Curiously enough, he retained the Chakai seat and gave up the Jamui assembly constituency.

Chakai is one of the six assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of Jamui which is currently represented by Chirag Paswan of the LJP who won it by defeating his nearest RJD rival Sudhansu Shekhar Bhaskar in 2014 Lok Sabha elections. The JDU nominee and Bihar speaker Uday Narayan Choudhary was relegated to the third place.

Tarapur, Sheikhpura, Sikandra, Jamui and Jhajha are other five assembly segments located in the Lok Sabha constituency of Jamui, reserved for candidates belonging to scheduled castes.

Chakai Assembly Election News 2015

Rebel threat for LJP

Updated on : Sep-29,2015

Chakai seat in Jamui district is all set to witness a contest between the official and rebel NDA candidates. Sumit Kumar Singh, son of senior HAM-S leader and former minister in Nitish Kumar cabinet Narendra Singh, has filed his nomination papers from Chakai constituency as an Independent candidate. While Vijay Kumar Singh has filed his papers as official candidate of LJP. While Sumit is the sitting MLA from Chakai, Vijay, chairman of Multi-State Co-operative Land Development Bank, is the special choice of Jamui LJP MP Chirag Paswan.

Chakai Assembly Election Videos 2015