Chainpur Assembly Elections 2015

Chainpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
BRIJ KISHOR BIND Bharatiya Janata Party Won
MOHAMMAD ZAMA KHAN Bahujan Samaj Party 58242
MAHABALI SINGH Janata Dal (United) 30287
ALOK KUMAR SINGH Samajwadi Party 12802
RANGLAL PASWAN Communist Party of India (Marxist) 2573
PRAHALAD BIND Independent 1801
SURYA KANT PRASAD Independent 1316
RAM KRISHNA KHARWAR ALIS R.K. SINGH Suheldev Bhartiya Samaj Party 902
SHRAWAN BIND Independent 855
TRIPURARI TIWARI Atulya Bharat Party 834
None of the Above None of the Above 3074

Chainpur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
206 GEN Phase II Sep 21st 2015 Oct 16th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Chainpur Constituency

Chainpur legislative assembly segments belongs to the Sasaram (SC) Lok Sabha constituency and it comes under Kaimur district. There are 2,69,990 people in the Chainpur amongst them there are 1,42,066 are males and 1,27,908 are females.

Electoral History of Chainpur Constituency in Bihar

One of the four assembly segments in the Kaimur district of Bihar, Chainpur went in favour of the BJP in the last general assembly elections to the state in 2010 when its candidate Brij Kishor Vind won it by defeating his nearest rival Dr. Ajay Alok of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) by a margin of 13580 votes. In that election, whereas Brij Kishor Vind polled 46510 votes, the BSP nominee received 32930 votes and was followed by Mohammad Zama Khan of the Congress with 19552 votes.

Dharmendra Kumar Singh, who entered the contest on the ticket of Lalu Prasad Led Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD), was relegated to the fourth place with 17682 votes. He is the son of former JD (U) MP from Karakat parliamentary seat, Mahabali Singh, who himself was elected from the Chainpur assembly constituency in 1995, 2000 and February and October/November elections in 2005. While Mahabali Singh�s first two wins from Chainpur assembly seat came as a nominee of the BSP, he won both the 2005 elections on RJD�s ticket.

In 2010 election to Chainpur, DHARMENDRA was followed by former BSP MLA from Bhabua Ramcharan Singh Yadav, who contested on the ticket of the Samajwadi Party this time.

Mahabali Singh quit the RJD and successfully contested the Karakat Lok Sabha as a member of the JD(U in 2009. He was however defeated in the 2014 elections from the seat which elected Upendra Kushwaha of the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP), an ally of the BJP. In the byepoll necessitated due to the vacation of the Chainpur seat by Mahabali Singh, Brij Kishor Vind emerged victorious by defeating Birendra Singh of the RJD.

Earlier Lalmuni Chaubey, the former BJP MP from Buxar Lok Sabha seat, had claimed the Chainpur assembly seat in 1972, 1977, 1980, and 1990. While his wins in 1972 and 1977 came on the tickets of Bhartiya Jan Sangh and the Janata Party, he won in 1980 and 1990 as a BJP candidate. Lalmuni Chaubey, who had won the BUXAR seat for consecutive four terms (1996, 1998, 1998 and 2004) and narrowly lost the 2009 elections, was denied ticket by the BJP in 2014. The seat was won by Ashwani Kumar Choubey.

Chainpur is one of the six assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of Sasaram which is currently represented by Chhedi Paswan of the BJP who won it by defeating the sitting Congress MP and former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar in 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Other assembly segments located in the Lok Sabha constituency of Sasaram are Bhabua, Mohania, Chenari, Sasaram and Kargahar.

Chainpur Assembly Election News 2015

Third Front may divide votes

Sidelined by the JD(U)-RJD-Congress alliance, the Samajwadi Party (SP) is all set to take on its former allies in select constituencies. SP has fielded Alok Kumar Singh (Chainpur) in Chainpur. While BJP has chosen Brajkishore Bind to take on Mahabali Singh of JD(U) But the SP candidate is bound to divide the votes even as the residents are polarised on the basis of caste and development issues.

Chainpur Assembly Election Videos 2015