Bodh Gaya Assembly Elections 2015

Bodh Gaya Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
KUMAR SARVJEET Rashtriya Janata Dal Winner
SHYAMDEO PASWAN Bharatiya Janata Party 52183
DEVENDRA MANJHI Independent 4265
JANKI PASWAN Communist Party of India 4057
NARESH KUMAR BHARTI Independent 2872
SIKANDAR CHOUDHARY Bharat Bhrashtachar Mitao Party 2439
SHARAWAN MANJHI Bahujan Samaj Party 1750
DEEN DAYAL BHARATI OR KAPIL CHOUDHRY Nationalist Congress Party 1561
SATYENDRA KUMAR Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 1547
RAMBALI MANJHI Pragatisheel Magahi Samaj 1052
SANJAY PASWAN International Party 905
MINA DEVI Rashtriya Mazdoor Ekta Party 891
RAJKUMAR PASWAN Akhil Bharat Hindu Mahasabha 873
PRABHU PASWAN Republican Party of India (A) 820
None of the Above None of the Above 5772

Bodh Gaya Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
229 (SC) Phase II Sep 21st 2015 Oct 16th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Bodh Gaya Assembly Election Constituency

Bodh Gaya is a legislative assembly constituency in the Gaya district of Bihar. It belongs to the Gaya (SC) Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituency. A total of 2,69,026 people of the Bodh Gaya legislative assembly segment are eligible voters of whom there are 1,40,500 male and 1,28,517 female voters in the constituency. This segment of Bihar covers Mocharim, Gafa Khurd, Dhanawan, Kanhaul, Basarhi, Bakror and Moratal gram panchayats and Bodh Gaya Notified Area (NA) of Bodh Gaya community development block; Fatehpur community development block; and Tan Kuppa community development block.

Electoral History of Bodh Gaya Constituency in Bihar

One of the ten assembly constituencies located in the Gaya district of Bihar, Bodh Gaya is currently held by the BJP whose nominee Shyam Deo Paswan had won it in the last assembly elections to the state in 2010 by defeating the sitting Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) MLA Kumar Sarvjeet by a margin of 11213 votes. In that election, while Shyam Deo Paswan polled 54160 votes, Kumar Sarvjeet, son of former Gaya Janata Dal MP Rajesh Kumar, received 42947 votes and was distantly followed by Kapil Choudhary of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) who secured 4737 votes. Lalu led Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) did not field its candidate because it was in alliance with the LJP in 2010 assembly polls.

Former Bodh Gaya Communist Party of India (CPI) MLA Balik Ram, who entered the contest on the ticket of the Congress, came a poor seventh with just 3180 votes. BALIK RAM was earlier elected from the Bodh Gaya assembly constituency in 1972, 1980 and 1990 on the ticket of the CPI. The Congress has won the seat last time in 1967.

In a by-election held in 2009 Kumar Sarvjeet had emerged victorious from the Bodh Gaya by wresting the seat from the BJP by defeating its candidate Vijay Kr. Manjhi. The by-poll was necessitated due to the resignation of the sitting BJP MLA Hari Manjhi who got elected to the 15th Lok Sabha. Hari Manjhi had won the seat in 2005 October/November elections by trouncing sitting RJD MLA Phoolchand Manjhi who claimed the seat in previous assembly elections held in the month of February in 2005.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled caste, Bodh Gaya had elected in 2000 former Bihar Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi who was expelled from the JD(U) for not resigning his post which was offered to him by Niitsh Kumar. In 2000 Jitan Ram Manjhi had emerged winner as a candidate of the RJD.

Bodh Gaya is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to create the Gaya parliamentary constituency currently represented by Hari Manjhi of the BJP who retained the seat by defeating his nearest RJD rival Ramji Manjhi by a margin of 115504 votes in the last parliamentary elections in 2014. Jitan Ram Manjhi, who entered the fray on the ticket of the JD (U), was relegated to the third place.

Barachatti, Sherghati, Gaya Town, Belaganj, Wazirganj and Guraru are the other six assembly constituencies falling under Gaya Lok Sabha seat reserved for candidates belonging to scheduled castes.

Bodh Gaya Assembly Election News 2015

Its BJP versus RJD

Updated on : Oct-4,2015

Shyam Dev Paswan, the sitting MLA from BJP, is locking horns with Kumar Sarvjeet of the RJD in this SC reserved constituency. The HAM chief's son-in-law Devendra Manjhi filed nomination as an Independent from Bodh Gaya. Devendra Manjhi says he had to enter the fray under pressure from the Mahadalit samaj (community).But he is quick to clarify that he has no 'ill-feeling' against his father-in-law, former Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi.

Same caste politics

Updated on : Oct-4,2015

Never before in the electoral history of Gaya town, the main contestants belonged to the same caste. It is for the first time that Gaya town too would be witnessing the same caste contest as Prem Kumar, six-time winner and BJP MLA, and his Congress rival Priye Ranjan Dimple belong to the same caste. Both Prem and Dimple are Chandravanshis, the caste having a very strong numerical presence in Gaya town.

Bodh Gaya Assembly Election Videos 2015