Bisfi Assembly Elections 2015

Bisfi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
FAIYAZ AHMAD Rashtriya Janata Dal Winner
MANOJ KUMAR YADAV (BHOJ PANDAUL) Rashtriya Lok Samta Party 35650
MITHILESH KUMAR JHA Communist Party of India 9309
PREM SHANKER JHA Independent 2701
CHAMELI DEVI Bahujan Samaj Party 2271
ANIL KUMAR SINGH Independent 1754
ALPANA KUMARI Shivsena 1375
FAIZ AHMAD Akhil Bhartiya Mithila Party 1198
DHANESHWAR MAHTO Bhartiya Mitra Party 984
MANOJ KUMAR YADAV (PARADIH) Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 836
MD. AUSAF Samajwadi Party 622
PARWEZ HASSAN Janta Dal Rashtravadi 610
ASHOK KUMAR ROY National Janta Party (Indian) 442
GULAB KUMAR SAH Bahujan Mukti Party 389
None of the Above None of the Above 1670

Bisfi Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
35 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Bisfi Assembly Election Constituency

Bisfi legislative assembly segments covers Hasanpur, Satlakha, Ijra, Rahika, Sapta, Saurath, Malangia, Najirpur, Basauli, Jagatpur, Kakraul South and Kakraul North gram panchayats of Madhubani community development blocks and Bisfi CD block. Bisfi is home to 2,77,683 voters of whom 1,44,640 are men while 1,33,038 are women.

Electoral History of Bisfi Constituency in Bihar

Once a stronghold of the Communist party of India (CPI), Bisfi, one of the ten assembly seats located in the Madhubani district of Bihar, is currently being represented by Faiyaj Ahmad who won the seat for the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by defeating his nearest Janata Dal (United) rival Hari Bhushan Thakur by a margin of 9501 votes in the last assembly elections in the state held in 2010.

In that election while Faiyaj Ahmad got 47169 votes, Hari Bhushan Thakur polled 37668 votes and was followed by Md. Ahmar Hasan of the Congress who received 8064 votes.

While the congress had won only four seats in 2010 assembly polls to Bihar, the BJP which contested the elections in alliance with the JD (U) managed to claim 91 seats. The latter emerged victorious from 115 constituencies. The RJD put up a dismal performance with only 22 seats.

As things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways and the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), the ally of the RJD in the last assembly elections, is now a part of the BJP led NDA, the ruling dispensation at the Centre.

Earlier Hari Bhushan Thakur had won both the assembly elections to Bisfi in 2005 as an Independent candidate. In 2005 Bihar went to the assembly polls twice because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of October of the same year.

Shakil Ahmad of the Congress had emerged victorious from Bisfi assembly seat in 2000 when he had defeated Abdul Hai of the RJD by a margin of 12599 votes. The constituency had sent Rajkumar Purbey of the CPI to the Bihar legislative assembly in 1967, 1969, 1977 and 1980.

Bisfi is one of the six assembly constituencies that fall under the parliamentary constituency of Madhubani which is currently represented by Chaudhary Hukmadeo Narayan Yadav of the BJP who retained it by defeating his nearest rival Abdul Bari Siddiqui of the RJD by a simple margin of 20,535 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014. Other assembly seats that fall under the Madhubani parliamentary constituency are Harlakhi, Benipatti, Bisfi, Keoti and Jale.

Bisfi Assembly Election News 2015

Updated on : Oct-8,2015

Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) has fielded Manoj Kumar Yadav in Bisfi. He will fight it out with the sitting MLA Dr. Faiyaz Ahmed from RJD. However, the CPI candidate may eat into the votes of the Grand Alliance, thereby giving the RLSP candidate a clear edge in this election. Dr. Faiyaz Ahmad is the sitting MLA of the constituency.
He won 47,169 votes in the assembly election of 2010 and defeated Hari Bhushan Thakur of JD (U). Hari Bhushan Thakur fell short of Ahmad by 9,501 votes winning 37,668 votes. Bisfi is in Madhubani district of the state of Bihar. RLSP candidate is hopeful that with the Left Front putting up a joint candidate, the latter will divide the votes of Grand Alliance. While the upper castes are bound to vote for RLSP, the Yadavs and OBCs may have to decide between the NDA and RJD candidates.

Bisfi Assembly Election Videos 2015