Bihpur Assembly Elections 2015

Bihpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
VARSHA RANI Rashtriya Janata Dal Winner
KUMAR SHAILENDRA Bharatiya Janata Party 56247
LAL BAHADUR SINGH Independent 4141
HAIDAR ALI Independent 2983
AJMERY KHATUN Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 1874
BINDESHWARI MANDAL Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 846
SUMAN KUMAR Independent 784
GAUTAM KUMAR PRITAM Socialist Party (India) 627
BABY KUMARI Independent 579
RAJESH KUMAR JHA Independent 531
CHHANGURI SHARMA Independent 238
JIWAN MAHTO Independent 208
None of the Above None of the Above 3565

Bihpur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
152 GEN Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Bihpur Assembly Election Constituency

Bihpur legislative assembly segment is a part of the Bhagalpur lok sabha constituency. Bihpur comprises CD Blocks Narayanpur, Bihpur and Kharik.

Electoral History of Bihpur Constituency in Bihar

Dominated by the Gangotas caste which played a decisive role in the defeat of BJP heavyweight Syed Shahnawaz Hussain from Bhagalpur Lok Sabha seat in the last general parliamentary elections in 2014, Bihpur is currently represented by Kumar Shailendra of the BJP who won the seat by defeating his nearest rival and sitting Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) MLA Shailesh Kumar Mandal by a narrow margin of 465 votes in the last general assembly elections to the state held in 2010.

In 2010, while Kumar Shailendra polled 48027 votes, Shailesh Kumar Mandal, who emerged as a giant killer by defeating Shahnawaz Hussain in 2014 to win the Bhagalpur Lok Sabha seat, received 47562 votes and was distantly followed by Ashok Kumar Yadav of the congress who got 7335 votes.

Shailesh Kumar Mandal, popularly known as Bulo Mandal in the Bhagalpur parliamentary constituency, had emerged victorious in both the elections held in 2005. It has to be noted that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of October of the same year. Bulo Mandal, who belongs to Gangotas caste, had also won the seat in 2000.

The Congress has won the Bihpur assembly seat last time in 1985 when its candidate Rajendra Prasad Sharma retained it by defeating Balbhadra Choudhary of the BJP who also lost in the next assembly polls in 1990 to Brahmadeo Mandal of the Janata Party Dal who went on to win the next assembly election to the seat on the ticket of the Janata Dal.

During the earlier part of the electoral politics, Bihpur assembly went in fvaour of the Communist Party of India (CPI) whose nominee Prabhunarain Roy had claimed it in 1957, 1969 and 1972. The Party candidate Sitaram Singh Azad went on to win the subsequent election in 1977.

One of the seven assembly constituencies located in the Bhagalpur district, Bihpur is one of the six assembly constituencies the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of Bhagalpur which is currently represented by Shailesh Kumar Mandal alias Bulo Mandal of the RJD who won the seat by defeating Shahnawaz Hussain of the BJP in 2014 Lok Sabha elections by a margin 9,485 votes.

Bihpur Assembly Election News 2015

Party dissent to the fore

Updated on : Sep-29,2015

The BJP appears comfortable in Bihpur. This constituency which is part of Bhagalpur district is the only solace for the faction-ridden party in this area. Bhagalpur has seven Assembly segments. In Bhagalpur, Pirpainti and Gopalpur, the rebel BJP candidates are queering the official candidates pitch. The other three seats in the district have gone to the BJP's allies. However, it is said serious dissent and rebel candidates in the neighbouring seats would affect the prospects of BJP in Bihpur in Bhagalpur district.

Bihpur Assembly Election Videos 2015