Biharsharif Assembly Elections 2015

Biharsharif Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
DR.SUNIL KUMAR Bharatiya Janata Party Winner
MOHAMMAD ASGHAR SHAMIM Janata Dal (United) 73861
AFRIN SULTANA Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 12635
MD. SURKHAB ALAM Independent 2259
ARUN YADAV Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 1526
ARUN DEO KUMAR Independent 1453
RANVIJAY SINGH Bahujan Samaj Party 1238
SURENDRA PRASAD Independent 1143
MANOJ KUMAR Independent 723
ARUN KUMAR Independent 454
AVINASH KUMAR Independent 302
None of the Above None of the Above 5191

Biharsharif Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
172 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Biharsharif Assembly Elections Constituency

Biharsharif is a legislative assembly constituency in the Nalanda district. It is a part of Nalanda Lok Sabha constituency. Biharsharif assembly segment has 3,35,064 eligible voters, out of whom 1,78,600 are men and 1,56,437 are women. Biharsharif assembly segment comprises Bihar (M) and Rahui community development blocks.

Electoral History of Biharsharif Constituency in Bihar

One of the seven assembly constituencies located in the Nalanda district of Bihar, Biharsharif is currently held by Sunil Kumar of the Janata Dal (United) who had retained it in the last assembly polls to Bihar in 2010 by defeating Aafrin Sultana of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by a margin of 23713 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election, Sunil Kumar, who had unsuccessfully contested the seat in 1995 and 2000 as Independent and has also tried his hands in film making, polled 77880 votes, the RJD nominee received 54168 votes.

Haidar Alam, who was nominated by the Congress to contest the Biharsharif assembly seat in 2010, was relegated to the seventh place with just 1821 votes.

Biharsharif assembly seat went in favour of the RJD in 2000 when its candidate Syed Naushadunnab trounced his nearest rival Sunil Kumar, then an Independent, who however defeated the former in the next assembly elections held in February in 2005.

Biharsharif was won by the Congress last time in 1985 when the party nominee Shakeel-uz-Zaman Ansari had defeated the BJP candidate Deonath Prasad who had claimed the seat in 1977, 1980 and 1990 and 1995. While Deonath Prasad, a former minister in RJD government, won on the ticket of the Communist Party of India (CPI), his win in 1990 came on the ticket of the BJP, diametrically opposite to the CPI.

His last win from the Biharsharif assembly seat came as a nominee of the Janata Dal which later disintegrated into several splinter groups. Attempts are being made once again to regroup these spinoffs to take on the BJP which is determined to take Bihar in its kitty in the forthcoming assembly elections.

Biharsharif is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Nalanda which is currently represented by Kaushalendra Kumar of the JD (U) who retained the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Other six assembly constituencies that are parts of the Nalanda parliamentary seat are Asthawan, Rajgir, Islampur, Hilsa, Nalanda and Harnaut.

Biharsharif Assembly Election News 2015

JD(U) pins hope on novice

Updated on : Oct-5,2015

BJP borrowed its Biharsharif candidate Dr Sunil Kumar from JD(U), a sitting MLA who won last three elections in a row.

In order to counter Biharsharif rebel MLA Dr Sunil Kumar who is now standing on BJP ticket, the JD(U) has fielded its first ever Muslim candidate in the district.

Asghar Shamim is the JD(U) contestant in Biharsharif.

He is a novice in electoral politics and long-time Nitish Kumar's loyalist.

Biharsharif Assembly Election Videos 2015