Bibhutipur Assembly Elections 2015

Bibhutipur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
RAM BALAK SINGH Janata Dal (United) Winner
RAM DEO VERMA Communist Party of India (Marxist) 40647
RAMESH KUMAR ROY Lok Jan Shakti Party 32261
SANJEEV KUMAR Rashtravadi Janata Party 3559
AMARJEET THAKUR Independent 2447
PRITHVI NATH PRASAD Bharat Deshbhakt Party 1857
RAHMAT HUSAIN Bahujan Samaj Party 1181
None of the Above None of the Above 4440

Bibhutipur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
138 GEN Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Bibhutipur Assembly Election Constituency

Bibhutipur legislative assembly constituency is part of Ujiarpur Lok Sabha constituency. It is composed of the following: Bibhutipur community development block; Bulakipur, Kamrawn, Malpur Purwaripatti, Rampur Jalalpur, Bambaiya Harlal and Ajnaul gram panchayats of Dalsinghsarai CD Block.

A bastion of the Communist Party of India (Marxists), Bibhutipur in Samastipur district of Bihar was won by the Janata Dal (United) in the last assembly elections to the state in 2010 when its candidate Ram Balak Singh defeated the six -term CPM MLA Ram Deo Verma by a margin of 12301 votes.

In 2010 assembly elections to Bibhutipur , while 46469 votes were polled in favour Ram Balak Singh, Ram Dev Verma received 34168 votes and was followed by Ramesh Kumar Roy of Ramvilas Paswan led Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), an ally of the Lalu led Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) in the elections at that time.

Electoral History of Bibhutipur Constituency in Bihar

   Ram Bilas Mahto, who was nominated by the Congress to contest the Bibhutipur assembly seat in 2010, was relegated to fourth place with 2984 votes.

   Rambalak Singh, who had contested the Bibhutipur assembly seat on an LJP ticket in both the elections in 2005, lost to Ram Deo Verma in each of the election.

   CPM had contested 30 seats in 2010 in Bihar but drew a blank. Bachhwara in the Begusarai district was the only seat won by the Communist party of India (CPI) in 2010 in Bihar where the Communist parties have a total of nine seats in the previous legislative assembly formed by the October/November polls in 2005.

   Ram Deo Verma has been winning since 1980 except for 1985 when Chandrabali Thakur of the Congress had defeated him. He claimed the seat in 1980, 1990, 1995, 2000 and February and October/November in 2005. He had unsuccessfully contested the Ujiarpur Lok Sabha seat in the last parliamentary elections in 2014 on the ticket of the CPM.

   One of the ten assembly constituencies located in the Samastipur district of, Bibhutipur is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Ujiarpur which is currently represented by Nityanand Rai of the BJP who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections by defeating his nearest RJD rival Alok Kumar Mehta by a margin of 60,469 votes..

   Other five assembly constituencies that are parts of the Ujiarpur parliamentary seat are Patepur, Ujiarpur, Morwa, Sarairanjan and Mohiuddinnagar.

Bibhutipur Assembly Election News 2015

A Triangular Contest

Updated on : Sep-29,2015

In Bibhutipur, the fight appears to be triangular as Ramdeo Verma of CPI (M) who represented this constituency for five terms till 2010 is posing a big challenge to both NDA and the grand alliance of JD(U). This time, all left parties of the state have formed an alliance to check split in votes. However, the Left block may not be able to match the serious contest that is going on between the two main rivals -- BJP-led NDA and the Mahagatbandhan. While laying the foundation stone of a poltechnic at Kishanpur Tavka under Bibhutipur block, CM Nitish Kumar slammed the PM Modi for questioning the development works carried out by the JD(U) government. Nitish said he did not submit a report card to the PM on the development activities that are taking place in Bihar.

Bibhutipur Assembly Election Videos 2015