Bhagalpur Assembly Elections 2015

Bhagalpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
AJEET SHARMA Indian National Congress Winner
ARJIT SHASHWAT CHOUBEY Bharatiya Janata Party 59856
BIJAY PD. SAH Independent 15212
MD SHAHAB ALAM Bahujan Samaj Party 954
RAVISHANKAR SINGH Proutist Bloc, India 810
SYED BASHAR ALI Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 612
OM BHASKER Independent 579
ARUNA DEVI National Tiger Party 492
MUNSHI DAS Independent 479
DAYARAM MANDAL Bahujan Mukti Party 268
GOPAL BHARTI Samajwadi Party 235
None of the Above None of the Above 2500

Bhagalpur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
156 GEN Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Bhagalpur Assembly Elections Constituency

Bhagalpur legislative assembly constituency is a part of Bhagalpur lok sabha constituency. It comprises Bhagalpur (Municipal Corporation) of Jagdishpur CD Block. Bhagalpur will be one of the 36 seats to have VVPAT enabled electronic voting machines. Bhagalpur assembly segment has a 2,97,119 eligible voters, out of whom 1,59,960 are men and 1,37,146 are women.

Electoral History of Bhagalpur Constituency in Bihar

One of the seven assembly segments located in the district of the same name in Bihar, Bhagalpur assembly constituency is currently being represented by the sitting Congress MLA Ajeet Kumar Sharma who wrested the seat from the BJP by defeating its candidate and his nearest rival Nabhay Kumar Choudhary by a margin of 17,229 votes in a byepoll held on 21st August in 2014, necessitated due to the election of its sitting BJP MLA Ashwini Kumar Choubey to the Lok Sabha from the Buxar parliamentary constituency.

Out of the ten assembly seats that went to the polls in the bye-elections which took place after the Lok Sabha elections, the BJP won 4 whereas the RJD and the JD(U) was victorious on 3 and 2 seats respectively. The Congress won the Bhagalpur seats.

A bastion of the BJP, Bhagalpur has been won by the party and its earlier avatar Bhartiya Jan Sangh (BJS) for several times. Vijoy Kumar Mitra had emerged victorious form the seat in 1962, 1969, 1972, 1977 and 1990. While his first three wins came as a candidate of the BJS, he claimed the seat in 1977 as a nominee of the Janata Party by trouncing Talib Ansari of the Congress by a margin of 20247 votes.

In 1990 Mitra had won the seat for the BJP by defeating the Congress nominee Ishmail Khan. Sheo Chandra Jha of the Congress emerged winner from the seat in 1980 and 1985. In the assembly election to Bhagalpur in 1985, Sheo Chandra Jha polled 51755 votes to defeat his nearest Janata Party rival Faiyaz Bhagalpuri by a massive margin of 38759 votes. Vijoy Kumar Mitra was relegated to the fourth place with just 8666 votes. Ashwini Choubey, former health minister in the Nitish Kumar government, had won the Bhagalpur seat for five successive terms since 1995 (1995, 2000, 2005 February, 2005 October-November and 2010).

Bhagalpur is one of the six assembly constituencies the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of the same name which is currently represented by Shailesh Kumar Mandal alias Bulo Mandal of the RJD who emerged as a giant killer by defeating Shahnawaz Hussain of the BJP in 2014 Lok Sabha elections by a margin 9,485 votes.

Bhagalpur Assembly Election News 2015

Bihar phase-1 Polling ends turnout nears 48.57%

Updated on : Oct-13,2015

It was peaceful polling in the first phase of Bihar assembly election in which voters in 49 assembly constituencies exercised their franchise on Oct 12. The voter turnout recorded until 4 pm in Bhagalpur 48.57%.

Burning issues highlighted

Updated on : Oct-4,2015

The civil society members had decided to bring out a 'citizens charter' on the issues related to the development and industrial growth of Bhagalpur. Through citizens charter, they civil society members aim to highlight the burning issues in Bhagalpur. Apart from seeking the views of contestants in the elections, they also want firm commitment from them on the issues of Bhagalpur division.

Bhagalpur Assembly Election Videos 2015