Berhampur Assembly Elections 2015

Berhampur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
SHAMBHU NATH YADAV Rashtriya Janata Dal Winner 94079
VIVEK THAKUR Bharatiya Janata Party 63303
AJIT CHAUDHARY Bahujan Samaj Party 5690
AYODHAYA KUMAR SINGH Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 3330
RAMESH KUMAR Independent 2736
PRABIND KUMAR SINGH Communist Party of India 1733
VYAS MUNI OJHA Independent 1493
SUBHASH PANDEY Independent 1394
PRAPHULL TIWARI Independent 908
SUNIL CHATURVEDI Samajwadi Party 906
DAMODAR YADAV Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 864
PARSHU RAM PRASAD Bahujan Mukti Party 404
None of the Above None of the Above 2638

Berhampur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
199 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Berhampur Assembly Elections Constituency

Brahampur is a legislative assembly constituency in the Buxar district is a part of the Buxar Lok Sabha constituency. The Brahampur legislative assembly segment has total of 2,87,883 voters amongst them there are 1,55,518 men and 1,32,361 women. The Brahampur legislative assembly segment comprises Simri, Chakki and Brahampur community development blocks.

Electoral History of Berhampur Constituency in Bihar

  One of the four assembly constituencies located in the district of Buxar in Bihar, Brahampur is currently held by Dil Mani Devi Kunwar of the BJP who had defeated her nearest rival and sitting MLA Ajit Chaudhary of the Lalu Yadav’s Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) by an impressive margin of 20342 votes in the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2010.

   In that election, while Dil Mani Devi, the daughter-in-law of veteran Bihar BJP leader Kailashpati Mishra, polled 46196 votes, Ajit Chaudhary, an RJD minister, received 25854 votes. Also known as Dadan Singh Pahalwan, Dadan Yadav, the sitting Akhil Jan Vikas Dal MLA from the neighbouring Dumraon assembly constituency, came third with 13901 votes on the ticket of Deve Gowda's Janata Dal (Secular) popularly called JD(S). Dadan Yadav had unsuccessfully contested the Buxar Lok Sabha seat in 2009 as an independent but he managed to secure 122975 votes against 132614 votes received by the RJD nominee Jagada Nand Singh, the winner of the seat.

   Arvind Singh, who entered the 2010 assembly election to Brahampur on the ticket of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), came fourth with 10083 votes and was followed by Satyendra Kumar of the Congress with just 4735 votes.

   Earlier Ajit Chaudhary had been elected four times from the Brahampur assembly constituency. In the October/ November assembly elections in 2005, he had defeated Vivek Thakur of the BJP by a margin of 6884 votes. Ajit Chaudhary polled 32138 votes against Vivek Thakur’s 25254 votes. Usha Devi, Dadan Singh Pahalwan’s wife and the only woman contesting the seat, received 8736 votes and was placed fourth. In the previous assembly election held in February, Ajit Chaudhary had trounced Narvadeshwar Tiwari of the BJP by 4177 votes.

   Buxar, Dumraon and Rajpur are the other three assembly constituencies located in Buxar district.

   Brahampur is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to create the Buxar parliamentary constituency currently represented by Ashwani Kumar Choubey of the BJP who retained the seat for the BJP by defeating his nearest rival and sitting RJD MP Jagada Nand Singh by a margin of 1,32,338 votes in the last parliamentary elections in 2014.

   Buxar, Dumraon, Rajpur, Dinara and Ramgarh are the other six assembly constituencies falling under the Buxar Lok Sabha seat.

Berhampur Assembly Election News 2015

Banking on Thakur community

Updated on : Oct-4,2015 BJP vice president C.P. Thakur's son Vivek Thakur is contesting in Brahmpur constituency. Vivek has the experience of contesting one assembly election in 2005, which he lost. In 2010, the BJP denied him a ticket. So, when the BJP announced him as a candidate from Brahmpur constituency, many within BJP cried foul. Shambhunath Yadav from RJD is ready to give a tough fight to Vivek Thakur. CPI too has nominated Prabind Kumar Singh to contest in this constituency.

Berhampur Assembly Election Videos 2015