Benipur Assembly Elections 2015

Benipur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
SUNIL CHOUDHARY Janata Dal (United) Winner
GOPAL JEE THAKUR Bharatiya Janata Party 43068
VINOD KUMAR JHA Independent 6061
SIYALAKHAN YADAV Independent 2459
SUNIL KUMAR JHA "MOTI BABU" Independent 2340
RAM NARESH ROY Communist Party of India 2299
LAXMAN RAM Bahujan Samaj Party 1685
VINODA NAND JHA Independent 1385
KRISHNA KANT JHA Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 1350
JITENDRA PASWAN Independent 1284
TARA KANT JHA Independent 796
BAIDYANATH YADAV Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 778
NAVAL KISHOR SINGH Samajwadi Party 499
None of the Above None of the Above 4614

Benipur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
80 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Benipur Assembly Elections Constituency

The assembly segment of Benipur is a part of the Darbhanga Lok Sabha constituency is located in Darbhanga district. It consists of Biraul, Baheri and Benipur community development blocks. The Benipur legislative assembly segment has 2,54,675 voters of whom there are 1,34,583 men and 1,20,092 women voters.

Electoral History of Benipur Constituency in Bihar

  One of the ten assembly constituencies located in the Darbhanga district of Bihar, Benipur is currently held by Gopal Jee Thakur of the BJP who had won it in the last assembly polls to Bihar in 2010 by defeating his nearest rival Hare Krishna Yadav of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by a close margin of 13957 votes. In that election, Gopal Jee Thakur had polled 43222 votes, Hare Krishna Yadav, the outgoing RJD MLA from the erstwhile Baheri assembly constituency, received 29265 votes and was followed by Gajendra Jha of the Congress who received 10184 votes.

   Benipur assembly constituency came into being before the last general assembly polls in 2010 following the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission.

  In 2010 the Janata Dal (United) did not field its candidate for the Benipur seat because it was in alliance with the BJP at that time. However, as things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways and the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), then an ally of the RJD, is now a part of the BJP led NDA, the ruling dispensation at the Centre. In those elections, four assembly seats in the Darbhanga district were contested by the JD(U), while the remaining six seats were allotted to the its then ally BJP.

  In 2010 the congress had won only four seats in 2010 assembly polls to Bihar. While the BJP managed to claim 91 seats, the JD (U) emerged victorious from 115 constituencies. The RJD put up a dismal performance with only 22 seats.

  Benipur is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Darbhanga which is currently represented by Kiriti Azad of the BJP who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

  Other five assembly constituencies that are parts of the Darbhanga parliamentary seat are Alinagar, Gaura Bauram, Darbhanga Rural, Darbhanga and Bahdurpur.

Benipur Assembly Election News 2015

Equal change for two fronts

Updated on : Oct-18,2015

Sitting MLA Gopal Thakur from BJP will take on Sunil Chaudhary of JD(U) in an interesting contest at Benipur. It is a 50:50 chance for both candidates. The electoral battle is evenly poised with the opposing camps having their vote banks and expect more votes during polling, especially from the youth and women voters. Thakur won the seat having accounted for 43,222 votes in the assembly election held in November 2010. Hare Krishna Yadav of RJD settled as the runner-up with 29,265 votes. The election was held in Benipur in 2010 after 38 years. The assembly segment of Benipur is a part of the Darbhanga Lok Sabha constituency.

Benipur Assembly Election Videos 2015