Belhar Assembly Elections 2015

Belhar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
GIRIDHARI YADAV Janata Dal (United) Won
MANOJ YADAV Bharatiya Janata Party 54157
RAJ KISHOR PRASAD URF PAPPU YADAV Jharkhand Mukti Morcha 10408
SARYUG PANDIT Independent 2918
SHIV KUMAR SINGH Bahujan Samaj Party 2463
PANKAJ KUMAR SINGH Independent 1434
LAKHAN LAL DEO Samras Samaj Party 1422
RAVINDRA MANDAL Independent 1294
AMRIT TANTI Independent 1159
None of the Above None of the Above 8193

Belhar Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
163 GEN Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Belhar Assembly Elections Constituency

Belhar legislative assembly segment is part of Banka lok sabha constituency. Belhar comprises CD Blocks Fullidumar, Belhar & Chandan. There are a total of 2,64,314 voters amongst them 1,39,393 are men and 1,24,919 are women.

Electoral History of Belhar Constituency in Bihar

One of the five assembly constituencies located in the Banka district of Bihar, Belhar is currently held by Giridhari Yadav of the Janata Dal (United) who won the seat by defeating his nearest Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) candidate Ramdeo Yadav by a margin of 7616 votes in the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2010. In that election while Giridhari Yadav, former Lok Sabha MP from Banka, polled 33776 votes, Ramdeo Yadav received 26160 votes and was followed by Surendra Prasad Gupta of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) who got 11155 votes.

Giridhari Yadav emerged victorious from the Katoria assembly seat in Banka district in 2000 on the ticket of RJD. He had also won the seat in 1995 as a Janata Dal (JD) nominee. He however, resigned the seat in 1996 after becoming a JD Lok Sabha MP.

Giridhari Yadav was also elected to the Lok Sabha in 2004 from the Banka parliamentary constituency as an RJD candidate. In the next parliamentary elections held in 2009 he lost the Banka seat.

Dhoraiya, Amarpur, Banka and Katoria are the other four assembly constituencies located in the Banka district.

Janardan Manjhi, had emerged victorious from the Belhar seat in the October/November assembly byepoll in 2005. He was defeated in the previous assembly elections held in February by Ramdeo Yadav who had also claimed the Belhar seat in 1995 and 2000 for the JD and RJD respectively. Janardan Manjhi is the currently JD (U) MLA from Amarpur assembly.

The Congress has won the Belhar assembly seat last time in 1990 when its nominee Chandra Mouleshwar Singh Lalan was elected for the second time. Previously Chandra Mouleshwar Singh Lalan had won the seat in 1980 as an Independent. The Belhar seat has also elected former Sanghata Socialist Party legislator Chaturbhuj Prasad Singh three times.

Belhar is one of the six assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of Banka which is currently represented by of Jay Prakash Narayan Yadav of the RJD who won it by defeating the sitting MP Putul Kumari in 2014 Lok Sabha elections by a margin of 10144 votes.

Other assembly segments located in the Lok Sabha constituency of Banka are Amarpur, Dhoraiya, Banka, Katoria and Sultanganj.

Belhar Assembly Election News 2015

Focus on development

Updated on : Oct-2,2015

BJP's Manoj Yadav (BJP) from Belhar will take on his JD(U) rival in this constituency. Addressing a rally in Banka district of which Belhar is a part, PM Modi focused on the development agenda which Bihar lacks and blamed Nitish Kumar government for slow pace of work.

Belhar Assembly Election Videos 2015