Belaganj Assembly Election 2015

Belaganj Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
SURENDRA PRASAD YADAV Rashtriya Janata Dal Winner
SHARIM ALI Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) 40726
KUMAR JITENDRA Communist Party of India 8114
VIBHA DEVI Akhil Bharat Hindu Mahasabha 3349
SHEIKH AYUB Bahujan Samaj Party 2725
ANAND KUMAR Krantikari Vikas Dal 2225
ASHOK YADAV Independent 2222
SHAHADAT HUSSAIN Bharat Bhrashtachar Mitao Party 2160
SARDAR MATHURA YADAV Samajwadi Party 2090
RAVINDRA PRASAD VERMA National Janta Party (Indian) 2009
MD YUSUF AHMAD Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 1559
KUNDAN KUMAR Bharat Vikas Morcha 1356
None of the Above None of the Above 4331

Belaganj Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
232 GEN Phase II Sep 21st 2015 Oct 16th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Belaganj Assembly Election Constituency

Belaganj is a legislative assembly constituency in the Gaya district is a fragment of the Gaya (SC) Lok Sabha constituency. A total of 2,35,171 are eligible voters of whom there are 1,24,496 male and 1,10,668 female voters. It covers Kendua, Kesaru Dharampur, Naili, Amraha, Kaler, Chakand, Aurwan, Madan Bigha, Katari, Rasalpur, Ghutiya, Bara, Kujapi, Korma, Kandi, Churi and Kujap gram panchayats of Gaya Town community development block; and Belaganj community development block.

Electoral History of Belaganj Constituency in Bihar

Surendra Yadav, who shows propensity to use strong-arm tactics to trash his opponents, is the sitting Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) MLA from Belaganj assembly constituency in the Gaya district of Bihar.

Representing the seat uninterruptedly since 1990 except for a brief period when he was elected to the 13th Lok Sabha in 1998, Surendra Yadav, a former RJD minister, retained the Belaganj seat in the last assembly elections to Bihar held in 2010 by defeating his nearest rival Mohammad Amzad of the Janata Dal (United) by a margin of 4638 votes. In that election while Surendra Yadav polled 53079 votes, the JD (U) nominee secured 48441 votes and was followed by Bablu Ravidas of the Shiv Sena who received 8942 votes.

Surendra Yadav, who came to the national limelight when snatched a copy of the Women Reservation Bill from the hands of the then home minister and Deputy PM L K Advani and tore it in the parliament, had both the elections to the Amour seat in 2005. It is worth mentioning that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

Surendra Yadav first entered the Bihar legislative assembly in 1990 by winning the Belagan seat. He went on to win the seat in the next assembly elections held in 1995. He however resigned the seat when he got elected to the Lok Sabha in 1998 from the Jahanabad parliamentary seat which he lost in the next Lok Sabha polls in 1999.

Surendra Yadav again claimed the Belganj seat in 2000 when he trounced Krishan Kumar Singh of the BJP by a thumping majority of 22734 votes.

Belaganj is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to create the Gaya parliamentary constituency currently represented by Hari Manjhi of the BJP who retained the seat by defeating his nearest RJD rival Ramji Manjhi by a margin of 115504 votes in the last parliamentary elections in 2014. Jitan Ram Manjhi, who entered the fray on the ticket of the JD (U), was relegated to the third place.

Barachatti, Sherghati, Bodh Gaya, Gaya Town, Wazirganj and Guraru are the other six assembly constituencies falling under Gaya Lok Sabha seat reserved for candidates belonging to scheduled castes.

Belaganj Assembly Election News 2015

RJD candidate tipped to win

Surender Yadav, who is contesting the polls as an RJD candidate from Belaganj in Gaya district, is a strong candidate. Sharim Ali is the HAM candidate in this constituency. RJD MLA Surendra Prasad Yadav has been accused of demanding extortion from a contractor for participating in a bid for Rs 6.94 crore contract in the irrigation department in Gaya division.

Belaganj Assembly Election Videos 2015