Begusarai Assembly Elections 2015

Begusarai Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Symbol Allotted Results
AMITA BHUSHAN Indian National Congress Winner
SURENDRA MEHTA Bharatiya Janata Party 66990
RAJENDRA PRASAD SINGH Communist Party of India (Marxist) 5593
DILEEP KESARI Samajwadi Party 1815
RAJESH KUMAR Independent 1252
AMARJEET SAH Independent 1250
AMIT KUMAR Independent 1130
BIPIN KUMAR PASWAN Bahujan Samaj Party 996
SHYAM PODDAR Bahujan Mukti Party 872
AJIT KUMAR Independent 682
BINDESHWARI SHARMA Rastriya Insaaf Party 517
PINKI SINHA Jammu & Kashmir National Panthers Party 430
None of the Above None of the Above 4678

Begusarai Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
146 GEN Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Begusarai Constituency

Begusarai legislative assembly segment is part of Begusarai Lok Sabha constituency It is composed of the following: Begusarai municipality; Birpur community development block; Babhangama, Maida Babhangama, Sahuri, Neenga and Bathauli gram panchayats of Barauni CD Block; Mohanpur, Chandpura, Bandwar, Suja, Sankh, Lakho, Hebatpur, Parna, Kusmaut, Kaith, Jinedpur, Neema, Panhas, Ajhaur, Khamhar and Rajaura gram panchayats of Begusarai CD Block. Begusarai will be one of the 36 seats to have VVPAT enabled electronic voting machines.

Electoral History of Begusarai Constituency in Bihar

Begusarai, one of the seven assembly constituencies in the district of the same name in Bihar, is currently held by the BJP legislator Surendra Mehta who won the seat by defeating his nearest rival Upendra Prasad Singh of the Ram Vilas Paswan headed Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) by a margin of 19618 votes in the last assembly elections to Bihar in 2010. In that election, while Surendra Mehta had polled 50602 votes, the LJP candidate had secured 30984 votes and was followed by the Communist Party of India (Marxists) nominee Md. Usman who received 19929 votes.

Begusarai was won by Srikrishna Prasad Singh of the BJP in a byepoll in 2009 in which he had defeated Sudarshan Singh of the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP). The by-election was necessitated due to the resignation of the sitting BJP MLA Bhola Singh who was elected to the Lok Sabha from the Nawada parliamentary constituency in 2009. Sri Krishna Prasad Singh was denied ticket by the party for 2010 assembly election to Begusarai .

Bhola Singh, who is the sitting BJP MP from Begusarai Parliamentary constituency, had won the Begusarai assembly seat in 2000 and both the elections in 2005 on the ticket of the BJP. It is very much to the point to underline the fact that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the months of October/November of the same year. In all these three elections Kamli Mahto of the Communist Party of India (CPI) was his nearest rival.

Known for switching loyalties Bhola Singh had won the Begusarai assembly seat in 1967 as an independent. His win in 1972 came as a member of the CPI. He won the next three elections (1977, 1980 and 1985) as a nominee of the Congress.

Begusarai seat went in favour of the CPIM in 1990 and 1995 when its candidates Basudev Singh and Rajendra Pd. Singh emerged winners respectively.

Begusarai is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of the same name which is currently represented by Bhola Singh of the BJP who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections that elected the Narendra Modi government at the centre.

Other six assembly constituencies that fall under the Begusarai Lok Sabha seat are Bakhri, Bachhwara, Cheria Bariarpur, Teghra, Matihani and Sahebpur Kamal.

Begusarai Assembly Election News 2015

Bihar phase-1 Polling ends turnout nears 52.6%

Updated on : Oct-13,2015

It was peaceful polling in the first phase of Bihar assembly election in which voters in 49 assembly constituencies exercised their franchise on Oct 12. The voter turnout recorded until 4 pm in Begusarai 52.6%.

Votes for development

Updated on : Sep-29,2015

Begusarai has witnessed rapid socio-economic changes over a period of time with economic aspirations of common people scoring over their obsession with politics. Today, contractors and doctors wield significant socio-economic clout in the region. Many small time contractors who started from scratch have scripted success stories for themselves by their sheer hard labour and enterprising skills. Today, they are the proud owners of construction companies with work orders to the tune of hundreds of crores of rupees.

Begusarai Assembly Election Videos 2015