Bathnaha Assembly Elections 2015

Bathnaha Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
DINKAR RAM Bharatiya Janata Party Winner
SURENDRA RAM Indian National Congress 54597
SUBODH RAM Rashtravadi Janata Party 3099
MANOJ RAM Bahujan Samaj Party 2273
SADHU SHARAN DAS Independent 2151
INDAL PASWAN Bahujan Mukti Party 1763
RAMCHANDRA PASWAN Samajwadi Party 1131
BHOLA RAM Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 877
UMESH RAM National Janta Party (Indian) 783
RAGHVENDRA KUMAR Rashtriya mahan Gantantra Party 778
KAPIL DEO PASWAN Janta Dal Rashtravadi 672
None of the Above None of the Above 5028

Bathnaha Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
24 (SC) Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Bathnaha Assembly Elections Constituency

Bathnaha is a legislative assembly constituency reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes. It lies in the Sitamarhi district and same Lok Sabha constituency. There are 2,64,299 eligible voters in the Bathnaha constituency, out of which 1,38,385 are male and 1,25,901 are female voters.

Bathnaha assembly segments comprise Majorganj and Bathnaha community developments blocks; Bishanpur Gonahi, Bagha, Hanuman Nagar, Khap Khopraha, Ghurghura, Marpa, Madhesra, Kanhauli, Bhutahi and Kachor gram panchayats of Sonbarsha community development blocks.

Electoral History of Bathnaha Constituency in Bihar

Located in the Samastipur district of Bihar, Bathnaha assembly constituency, which was made a reserved seat before the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2010, is currently represented by Dinkar Ram of the BJP who emerged victorious from the seat in 2010 by defeating Lalita Devi of the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) by a margin of 13292 votes. While 49181 votes were polled in favour of Dinkar Ram, Lalita Devi received 35889 and was distantly followed by Sanjay Ram of the Congress who received 8631 votes.

In 2010, the RJD and Ramvilas Paswan led Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) had contested the elections jointly. However equations have changed today. The BJP and the JD (U) have snapped their alliance and LJP is now a part of the NDA, the ruling dispensation at the Centre. The JD (U), the Congress and the RJD have come together to check the Modi juggernaut.

Earlier in the assembly elections to Bihar held in 2005 Nagina Devi had defeated Suryadeo Rai of the Rashtirya Janata Dal of Lalu Prasad to win the Bathnaha assembly seat, then a general constituency. She had also defeated Suryadeo Rai in the February polls It is very much to the point to underline the fact that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

Except for 1985 assembly elections, Suryadeo Rai had been continuously elected from the Bathnaha assembly constituency in 1977, 1980, 1990, 1995 and 2000. His first win in 1977 came as a nominee of the Congress. He had won the seat on the ticket of the Janata Dal in 1990 and 1995. The last time he won the seat in 2000 as a candidate of the RJD.

Bathnaha is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Sitamarhi which is currently represented by Ram Kumar Sharma of the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) who won the seat by defeating his nearest rival Sitaram Yadav of the RJD by a margin of 147965 votes in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections which resulted in the formation of Narendra Modi government at the centre.

Bathnaha Assembly Election News 2015

A strong BJP candidate

Updated on : Oct-8,2015

Surendra Ram of Congress will find a tough rival in sitting MLA Dinkar Ram of BJP in Bathnaha, a reserved constituency for SC candidates. According to poll analysts, BJP is quite strong here and Congress will find it difficult to wrest the seat from the Saffron brigade. The sitting MLA Dinkar Ram came out victorious from the constituency in the assembly election held in 2010. Dinkar Ram won 49,181 votes against the runner-up Lalita Devi of LJP who got 35,889 votes. Bathnaha lies in Sitamarhi Lok Sabha constituency.

Bathnaha Assembly Election Videos 2015