Barhara Assembly Elections 2015

Barhara Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
SAROJ YADAV Rashtriya Janata Dal Winner 65001
AASHA DEVI Bharatiya Janata Party 51693
LALAN YADAV Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 3442
SANJAY KUMAR SINGH Independent 1820
AJAY RAY Bahujan Samaj Party 1582
DR. ANIL KUMAR SINGH Hindustan Vikas Dal 1507
SIYAMATI RAI Independent 1350
DAYA SHANKAR SINGH Independent 1288
SANJAY KUMAR SINGH Revolutionary Socialist Party 630
ASHOK KUMAR SINGH National Janta Party (Indian) 605
None of the Above None of the Above 2916

Barhara Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
193 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Barhara Assembly Elections Constituency

Barhara is located in the Bhojpur district and a part of the Arrah Lok Sabha constituency.
The Barhara assembly constituency accommodates a total of 2,57,050 eligible voters, with 1,43,279 being males and 1,13,765 females. The Barhara assembly segment consists of Barhara community development block; Ijri, Sundarpur Barja, Agarsanda, Baghipakar, Basantpur, Dhamar and Khajuria gram panchayats of Arrah community development block; Khesrahiya, Mathurapur, Rajapur, Daulatpur, Chanda, Gidha, Birampur and Kayamnagar gram panchayats of Koilwar community development block.

Electoral History of Barhara Constituency in Bihar

One of the seven assembly constituencies located in the district of Bhojpur in the state of Bihar, Barhara is currently represented by Raghwendra Pratap Singh of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) who received 46102 votes to defeat the sitting JD (U) Asha Devi by a close margin of 1083 votes in the last assembly polls in 2010.

The Lalu led RJD, which contested the elections in alliance with the Lok Janashakti party (LJP), was able to win only 22 seats in 2010.

In the election to Barhara assembly constituency in 2010, while Raghwendra Pratap Singh, a minister in the Lalu-Rabri rule in Bihar, received 46102 votes, Asha Devi got 45019 votes and was followed by Bhai Brahmeshwer of the Congress with 6084 votes. The CPIML candidate Rajiv Ranjan was relegated to the fourth position with 3672 votes.

Asha Devi had won both the assembly elections to the Barhara in 2005. In 2010, the BJP did not field its candidate as it was contesting the assembly elections in alliance with the JD (U). However, as things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways and the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), the ally of the RJD in the last assembly elections, is now a part of the BJP led NDA, the ruling dispensation at the Centre. In a bid to survive, the RJD, the JD (U) and the Congress have come together to check the BJP.

Earlier Raghwendra Pratap Singh has been elected from the Barhara assembly constituency four times in a row (1985, 1990, 1995 and 2000) While In 1985 he claimed the seat for Janata Party, his wins in 1990 and 1995 came as a nominee of the Janata Dal. In 2000, he had emerged victorious on the ticket of the RJD.

Barhara is one of the seven assembly constituencies that unite to form the Arrah parliamentary constituency currently represented by Raj Kumar Singh of the BJP who won the seat by defeating his nearest RJD rival Sribhagwan Singh Kushwaha by a margin of 135870 votes in the last parliamentary elections in 2014.

The sitting JD (U) MP Meena Singh was relegated to the fourth place with CPIML nominee Raju Yadav claiming the third spot.

Jagdishpur, Agiaon, Sandesh, Arrah, Tarari and Shahpur are the other six assembly segments located in the Arrah parliamentary constituency. Of these Sandesh, Shahpur, Agiaon and Arrah are currently held by the BJP, Jagdishpur and Tarari are represented by the RJD and JD (U) legislators.

Barhara Assembly Election News 2015

It will be tough for sitting MLA

BJP has fielded Asha Devi to take on sitting RJD MLA Raghvendra Pratap Singh in Barhara. But this time Raghvendra Pratap is contesting from Samajwadi Party ticket. RJD has chosen to nominate Saroj Yadav to contest the Barhara seat this time. In the 2010 election, RJD's Raghvendra Pratap Singh captured the Barhara seat with 46,102 votes. Asha Devi of JD(U) trailed Singh by just 1,083 votes and settled as the runner-up.

Barhara Assembly Election Videos 2015