Barari Assembly Elections 2015

Barari Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
NEERAJ KUMAR Rashtriya Janata Dal Winner
BIBHASH CHANDRA CHOUDHARY Bharatiya Janata Party 56839
MUHAMMAD SHAKUR Nationalist Congress Party 11002
KAILASH SAHANI Independent 8484
MUHAMMAD ISRAIL Independent 3597
DINESH PRASAD YADAV Communist Party of India 2406
YUGAL KISHOR SAH Independent 2078
SUBHASH SINGH Janta Dal Rashtravadi 1419
PREM NATH JAISWAL Independent 1371
GOKUL YADAV Independent 1020
ARUN KUMAR Mithilanchal Vikas Morcha 810
LAKSHMI KANT MANDAL Bahujan Samaj Party 794
PRADIP K. YADAV Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 606
JAHANGIR Indian Union Muslim League 503
None of the Above None of the Above 2344

Barari Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
68 (SC) Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Barari Assembly Elections Constituency

The Barari assembly constituency lay in Katihar district of the state and covers Kursela, Sameli and Barari community development blocks. Barari is a part of the Katihar Lok Sabha constituency of Bihar. It has a total of 2,20,107 eligible voters, amongst whom are 1,16,480 male and 1,03,625 female electors.

Electoral History of Barari Constituency in Bihar

  One of the seven assembly constituencies located in the district of Katihar in Bihar, Barari has elected Bibhasha Chandra Choudhary who had retained the seat by defeating his nearest rival Muhammed Shakur of the of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) by a margin of 27168 votes in the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2010.

   In that election, while Bibhasha Chandra Choudhary received 58104 votes, former Barari NCP MLA Muhammed Shakur got 30936 votes and was followed by Mansoor Alam of the Lalu Yadav led Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) who received 15956 votes. Mansoor Alam had earlier claimed the seat in 1985, 1990 and 2000. While his win in 1985 came as a candidate of the Lok Dal, he won the seat in 1990 and 2000 on the tickets of Janata Dal and RJD.

  Sanyogita Singh, who was nominated by the Congress to contest the Barari assembly seat in 2010, was relegated to the fourth place with 10822 votes. She had contested the previous assembly elections to the seat in October/November elections in 2005 as a nominee of Lok Janashakti Party (LJP).

  Earlier Bibhasha Chandra Choudhary had been elected from the Barari assembly seat in October/November elections in 2005 on the ticket of the BJP by defeating Muhammed Shakur, then sitting NCP MLA, who had emerged victorious in the previous assembly elections in February in 2005.

  Barari seat went in favour of the Congress last time in 1980 when it candidate Karuneshwar Singh trounced Sapana Devi of the Janata Party. The Congress, which went into the 2010 polls without an alliance with the RJD or LJP, managed to win just four assembly seats.

  Barari is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Katihar which is currently represented by Tariq Anwar of the NCP who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections that elected the Narendra Modi government at the centre. Tariq Anwar broke from the Congress along with Sharad Pawar and former Lok Sabha Speaker P A Sangma on the issue of Sonia Gandhi's foreign origin.

  Other five assembly constituencies that fall under the Katihar Lok Sabha seat are Korha, Balrampur, Katihar, Kadwa, Pranpur and Manihari.

Barari Assembly Election News 2015

Development issues are critical

Updated on : Oct-18,2015

BJP has fielded its sitting MLA Bibhasha Chandra Choudhary who will take on the challenge from Niraj Kumar of RJD. Development issues are gaining importance here. It may be noted that both BJP and RJD have a strong caste vote-banks. But the youth and women are now more tuned towards issues of development like proper roads, medical facilities and schools which are lacking in these constituencies.

BJP's Bibhasha Chandra Choudhary represents Barari in the legislative assembly of Bihar. In the 2010 election, Bibhasha won the seat with 58,104 votes and defeated Mohammed Shakoor of NCP with a big margin of 27,168 votes. Shakoor won 30,936 votes in the elections. Barari assembly segment is located in Katihar district.

Barari Assembly Election Videos 2015