Banmankhi Assembly Elections 2015

Banmankhi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
KRISHNA KUMAR RISHI Bharatiya Janata Party Winner
SANJIV KUMAR PASWAN Rashtriya Janata Dal 58345
JAI KISHOR PASWAN Independent 7458
HARI LAL DAS Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 5803
UMESH PASWAN Jharkhand Mukti Morcha 5672
DEV NARAYAN RAJAK Independent 5507
RAJ KUMAR RAJ Communist Party of India 3745
ASHOK KUMAR BHARTI Independent 3387
SAVITA DEVI The National Road Map Party of India 2857
SATAYANRAYAN RAM Bahujan Samaj Party 1933
RAMDEO RISHIDEO Nationalist Congress Party 1749
SHASHI KALA DEVI Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 1677
SATYANARAYAN PRASAD BHARTI Maanavvaadi Janta Party 1517
PIRTHI RISI Independent 1037
BIRNDRA RAJAK Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 941
NEPOLIAN RAM Rashtriya Jankranti Party 934
RAJESH PASWAN Bhartiya Jantantrik Janata Dal 764
ARAVIND PASWAN Bahujan Mukti Party 612
None of the Above None of the Above 1859

Banmankhi Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
59 (SC) Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Banmankhi Assembly Elections Constituency

Banmankhi legislative assembly segment is in Purnia district. It is a part of Purnia Lok Sabha and is reserved for candidates belonging to Scheduled Castes (SC). It comprises of Matihani, Aurahi, Sukhsena West, Sukhsena East, Barhara Kothi, Rustampur, Dibara Dhani, Nipania, Mulkiya, Gouripur and Latraha gram panchayats of Barhara Kothi community development block and Banmankhi CD block . A total of 2,54,544 people are eligible to voters here of whom 1,33,531 men and 1,21,009 women.

Electoral History of Banmankhi Constituency in Bihar

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Banmankhi, one of the seven assembly constituencies located in the district of Purnia in the state of Bihar, is currently held by Krishna Kumar Rishi of the BJP who received 67950 votes to defeat Dharmlal Rishi of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by a massive margin of 44890 votes in the last assembly polls in 2010. In that election, while Krishna Kumar Rishi received 67950 votes, the RJD candidate polled 23060 votes and was followed by Independent candidate Shyamdeo Paswan who secured 11888 votes.

Shaligram Rishideo, who contested on the ticket of the Congress, came third with 10515 votes, In the assembly elections to Bihar held in the month of November in 2005, Banmankhi assembly seat was won by Krishna Kumar Rishi who had also emerged victorious from the seat in the previous assembly election held in February. t is worth mentioning that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

Banmankhi was also won by the BJP in 2000 when its candidate Deo Narayan Rajak defeated Manorama Devi of the RJD by 11945 votes.

Earlier Banmankhi assembly seat had elected Chunni Lal Rajbanshi in 1990 and 1995. While his win in 1990 came as a candidate of the BJP, he won the seat in 1995 on the ticket of the Janata Dal. In both the elections his nearest rival was Jay Kant Paswan, the winner of the seat in 1980.

Banmankhi assembly constituency had sent Rasik Lal Rishideo to the Bihar legislative assembly in 1969, 1972 and 1985. In the first assembly election to the seat held in 1951, the seat went in favour of Bhola Paswan, a famous Dalit leader and former Bihar minster.

Banmankhi is one of the six five assembly segments that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Purnia which is currently represented by Santosh Kumar Kushwaha of the JD (U) who won it by defeating his nearest rival and sitting BJP MP Uday Singh by a margin of 115669 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014.

Banmankhi Assembly Election News 2015

Wooing different castes

Updated on : Oct-17,2015

It is a reserved seat for schedule caste where the extremely backward castes and the most backward caste have a larger presence − 30% of the population. The other larger social groups are Baniya (25%) and Muslims (18%). The contest here is in between the BJP's Krishna Kumar Rishi and RJD's Sanjeev Kumar Paswan. But Rishi's victory is almost certain as he is popular in the constituency for his work, public connect and simplicity.

He had won in 2010 defeating RJD's Dharmlal Rishi. He defeated RJD's Kant Lal Rishi and Manorama Devi in October 2005 and February 2005 polls respectively. The seat is being represented by the BJP since 2000 when Deo Narayan Rajak defeated Devi Manorama Devi. Banmanki is one of the seven assembly segments in Purnea district

Banmankhi Assembly Election Videos 2015