Bankipur Assembly Elections 2015

Bankipur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
NITIN NAVEEN Bharatiya Janata Party Leading
KUMAR ASHISH Indian National Congress 46992
SHAUKAT ALI Communist Party of India 1542
ABHISHEK KUMAR @ SURAJ SINHA Bahujan Samaj Party 863
AJAY KUMAR Samajwadi Party 708
SHYAM BIHARI PRASAD Bhartiya Jan Hitkari Party 633
PRAMOD KUMAR Proutist Bloc, India 572
PRAMILA DEVI Revolutionary Socialist Party 558
MD NEYAZ HASSAN Independent 556
SHANNU Hind Congress Party 545
VIKASH KUMAR RAI Bharatiya Momin Front 534
RAMJI CHAUHAN Independent 509
RAJ KUMAR PASWAN Gareeb Aadmi Party 340
KRISHNA GOPAL Independent 335
RANJAN KUMAR Aam Janta Party Rashtriya 324
VINOD KUMAR SINGH Independent 252
NUTAN SINHA Lok Awaz Dal 241
SANTOSH KUMAR SAH Independent 233
AJIT KUMAR Krantikari Vikas Dal 222
ASHOK PRASAD Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 219
ARPANA DEVI Akhil Bharat Hindu Mahasabha 194
None of the Above None of the Above 1021

Bankipur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
182 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Bankipur Assembly Elections Constituency

Bankipur is a legislative assembly constituency located in the Patna district is a part of the Patna Sahib Lok Sabha constituency. A total of 3,15,690 voters are there in Bankipur assembly segment amongst them there are 1,70,135 males and 1,45,536 females. The Bankipur assembly constituency covers Ward Nos. 4 to 13 and 15 of Patna Rural community development block in the Patna Municipal Corporation.

Electoral History of Bankipur Constituency in Bihar

Located in the Patna district of Bihar, Bankipur assembly seat was won by Nitin Navin of the BJP in the last assembly polls to Bihar in 2010. In that assembly election to Bankipur, Nitin Navin, a former MLA from the erstwhile Patna West assembly constituency, had polled 78771 votes to trounce Binod Kumar Srivastava of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by a huge margin of 60840 votes. The RJD candidate who received 17931 votes was followed the Congress nominee Durga Prasad who received managed to secure only 6018 votes.

Jakir Hussain, who was nominated by the Nationalist Congress party (NCP) to contest the Bankipur assembly seat which came into being before the 2010 assembly polls, came fourth with just 1259 votes. The Janata Dal (United) had not fielded its candidate from the seat as it had jointly contested the 2010 assembly elections to Bihar with the BJP. In 2010 the RJD and the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) went to the polls together. Equations have changed now. The JD (U), the RJD and the Congress have come together to fight the forthcoming assembly elections.

Earlier Nitin Navin had emerged victorious from the Patna West assembly constituency, which ceased to exist after that on the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission, in a byepoll in 2006 which was necessitated due to the death of the sitting Patna West MLA and his father Navin Kishore Prasad Sinha . In the byepoll, Navin had defeated his nearest RJD rival Ajay Singh by a margin of over 65,000 votes. While Navin had polled 76,025 votes, Ajay Singh who was also backed by the Congress, managed to secure 10,858 and lost his security deposit. The turnout in the byelection was abysmally low with just 19.85 per cent.

Navin Kishore Prasad Sinha had won the Patna West seat in the assembly elections held in October/November 2005 by a whopping margin of 86119 votes.

A predominantly urban area, Bankipur is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to create the Patna Sahib parliamentary constituency currently represented by Shatrughan Sinha of the BJP who retained the seat by defeating his nearest Congress rival Kunal Singh of the Congress by an impressive margin of 2,65,805 votes in the last parliamentary elections in 2014. The JD (U) candidate Dr. Gopal Prasad Sinha was relegated to the third place.

Bakhtiarpur, Digha, Kumhrar, Patna Sahib and Fatuha are the other assembly constituencies falling under Patna Sahib Lok Sabha seat.

Bankipur Assembly Election News 2015

BJP MLA promises 'Acche Din'

Updated on : Oct-3,2015

Located on the banks of River Ganga, Bankipur is a place of historical significance. But this area is grappling with lack of basic amenities like roads and water in the present times. Sitting BJP MLA Nitin Navin from the constituency had defeated RJD candidate Binod Kumar Srivastava in 2010 by 60,840 votes. He promises ‘Acche Din’ for his constituency if he is elected back to power. Navin will fight it out with Kumar Ashish from Congress, a partner of Grand Alliance.

Bankipur Assembly Election Videos 2015