Baniapur Assembly Elections 2015

Baniapur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
KEDAR NATH SINGH Rashtriya Janata Dal winner
TARKESHWAR SINGH Bharatiya Janata Party 53900
VIRENDRA KUMAR OJHA Independent 13545
BIKRMA RAM Bahujan Samaj Party 1481
NARAYAN PD. YADAW Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 1304
BHIM UPADHYAY Independent 1291
MAINEJER RAY Communist Party of India 1120
SANJEEV KUMAR MISHRA Samras Samaj Party 1082
DHANANJAY KUMAR RAY Bihar Janta Party 945
DR. GOPAL PRASAD Bhartiya New Sanskar Krantikari Party 564
BYAS MANJHI Bahujan Mukti Party 555
None of the Above None of the Above 6628

Baniapur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
115 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Baniapur Assembly Elections Constituency

  Banipur legislative assembly segment is in Saran district and a part of the Maharajganj Lok Sabha constituency. It has around 2,80,657 voters with 1,51,351 of them being men and 1,29,302 women. Baniapur comprises Mashrakh community development block and Baniapur (excluding Lauwa Kala, Manikpur and Karhi gram panchayats) community development block.

Electoral History of Baniapur Constituency in Bihar

  Located in the Saran district of Bihar, Baniapur is currently held by Kedar Nath Singh of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) who had won it in the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2010 by defeating his nearest Janata Dal (united) rival Virendra Kumar Ojha by a margin of 3575 votes. In that election, Kedar Nath Singh, brother of former RJD MP from Maharajganj, received 45259 votes, Virendra Kumar Ojha secured 41684 votes and was followed by independent candidate Sachchidanand Rai who received 7676 votes.

   In 2010 election to Baniapur, the Congress had nominated Shailesh Kumar Singh who was relegated to the fourth place with 4114 votes.

  Earlier Baniapur assembly seat was won thrice in a row by Manoranjan Singh alias Dhumal Singh who has more than 150 criminal cases against him in more than five states. His first win in 2000 came as an Independent when he defeated the then sitting MLA Ram Bahadur Rai who entered the fray as a nominee of the RJD. He emerged victorious in the next assembly elections in February in 2005 on the ticket of the Ram Vilas Paswan led Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) by defeating once again Ram Bahadur Rai. Manoranjan Singh switched his loyalty and contested the next Bihar general assembly elections held inn October/ November in 2005 as a nominee of the JD (U) to defeat his nearest six- term Congress MLA Uma Pandey hwo had won in 1957, 1962, 1967, 1972, 1980 and 1985.

  Ram Bahadur Rai had won the seat in 1990 and 1995 on the tickets of Janata party and Janata Dal respectively.

  Baniapur is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Maharajganj which is currently represented by Janardan Singh Sigriwal of the BJP who won the seat by defeating the sitting RJD MP Prabhunath Singh in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections that paved the way for the Narendra Modi government at the centre. Manoranjan Singh of the JD (U) was relegated to the third place.

  Other five assembly constituencies that fall under the Maharajganj Lok Sabha seat are Goriakothi, Maharajganj, Ekma, Manjhi and Taraiya.

Baniapur Assembly Election News 2015

Money power rules here

Updated on : Oct-4,2015

Former MP and RJD MLA Prabhunath Singh brother's Kedar Nath Singh will seek re-election as the RJD candidate from Baniapur (Saran) assembly segment.

Tarkeshwar Singh is the BJP candidate in this constituency.

Baniapur in Saran district is one of the 62 constituencies identified by the Election Commission for the high possibility of unaccounted money being used by candidates and their supporters to woo voters.

Baniapur Assembly Election Videos 2015