Balrampur Assembly Elections 2015

Balrampur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
MAHBOOB ALAM Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) Leading
BARUN KUMAR JHA Bharatiya Janata Party 42094
DULAL CHANDRA GOSWAMI Janata Dal (United) 40114
NIRANJAN DAS Independent 14033
HANSRAJ YADAV Shivsena 9473
MD. ADIL HASAN All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen 6375
HABIBUR RAHMAN Nationalist Congress Party 3884
AZAD KHAN Independent 3463
MD MUSHTAQUE ALAM Janta Dal Rashtravadi 2897
MD. ANSAR Bahujan Samaj Party 1688
MD SAQULAIN AHMED Independent 1359
SHORAB ALI Ittehad-E-Millait Council 1326
MD SHAKIL Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 1265
SHYAM RISHI Indian Union Muslim League 1184
MD NOOR ALAM Bharatiya Momin Front 1145
GOPAL RAVIDAS Bahujan Mukti Party 685
None of the Above None of the Above 2875

Balrampur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
65 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Balrampur Assembly Elections Constituency

The Balrampur assembly segment belongs to Katihar Lok Sabha constituency and is in Katihar district IT consists of Barsoi and Balrampur community development blocks. There are 2,66,446 eligible voters amongst them 1,41,033 are men and 1,25,402 women.

Electoral History of Balrampur Constituency in Bihar

  One of the seven assembly constituencies located in the district of Katihar in Bihar, Balrampur is currently held by Dulal Chandra Goswami who had defeated his nearest rival Mahboob Alam of the Communist Party of India (Marxists-Leninist) by a margin of just 2704 votes in the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2010.

   In that election to Balrampur assembly constituency, which came into being before the 2010 general assembly polls on the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission, while Dulal Chandra Goshwami, a former BJP MLA from the erstwhile Barsoi assembly seat, entered the fray as an Independent and received 48136 votes, Mahboob Alam, a former Barsoi CPIML MLA, got 45432 votes and was followed by Habibur Rahman of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) with 16474 votes. Adil Hasan Azad of the Lok Janashakti Party, an ally of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) at that time, and Mohmmad Siddique of the Janata Dal (United), were relegated to fourth and seventh places with 7795 and 3538 votes respectively.

  Earlier Dulal Chandra Goswami, labour resources development minister in the Bihar government, had been elected from the Barsoi assembly seat, which ceased to exist before 2010, in 1995 on the ticket of the BJP. He lost to Mahboob Alam in the next elections to the Barsoi in 2000 and February elections in 2005. In the next assembly elections held in November in 2005, Dulal Chandra Goswami was trounced by Munnaf Alam, brother of Mahboob Alam.

  Mohmmad Siddique was elected from the Barsoi seat in 1990 on the ticket of the Janata Dal by virtue of his victory over Mahboob Alam, who was then in the fray as an Independent. In 2010 The CPIML had contested 104 seats but failed to win a single one. Independent candidates had emerged winners in six constituencies.

  Balrampuri is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Katihar which is currently represented by Tariq Anwar of the NCP who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections that elected the Narendra Modi government at the centre. Tariq Anwar broke from the Congress along with Sharad Pawar and former Lok Sabha Speaker P A Sangma on the issue of Sonia Gandhi's foreign origin.

  Other five assembly constituencies that fall under the Katihar Lok Sabha seat are Barari, Katihar, Kadwa, Manihar, Pranpur and Korha.

Balrampur Assembly Election News 2015

Party ticket for Independent

Updated on : Oct-18,2015

JD(U) has fielded sitting Indpendent MLA Dulal Chand Goswami in Balrampur. He will take on the challenge from the NDA candidate who in most probability will be from the BJP, the main partner of the alliance Owaisi's AIMIM which has fielded Mohammed Adil in this constituency may prove to be a spoiler as he may cut the votes due to JD(U) candidate. Presently Dulal Goswami, an Independent, represents the Balrampur segment in the assembly. In the 2010 election, Goshwami won 48,136 votes and defeated Mahboob Alam of CPI (ML) (L) by a margin of 2704 votes. The Balrampur segment belongs to Katihar Lok Sabha constituency.

Balrampur Assembly Election Videos 2015