Bajpatti Assembly Elections 2015

Bajpatti Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
DR. RANJU GEETA Janata Dal (United) Winner67194
REKHA KUMARI Rashtriya Lok Samta Party 50248
VIJAY KUMAR JHA Independent 4190
DEVENDRA JHA Independent 3339
FUDAN KUMAR JHA Independent 1852
AKHILESHWAR KUMAR Bahujan Samaj Party 1624
ASH NARAYAN JHA Independent 1588
ANSAR AHMAD Nationalist Congress Party 1512
MANOJ KUMAR Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 1287
AWADHESH KUMAR Jharkhand Mukti Morcha 1216
SANOWAR PRAVEEN Bahujan Mukti Party 726
SHAILENDRA KUMAR Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 717
SHEKH ABDUS SALAM Independent 651
REKHA DEVI Independent 623
REKHA DEVI Independent 516
M HABIBUR RAHMAN Independent 513
SHANKAR RAY Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 423
MD ASHFAQUE Samajwadi Party 392
RANJU KUMARI PATHAK National Janta Party (Indian) 354
None of the Above None of the Above 4138

Bajpatti Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
27 GEN Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Bajpatti Assembly Elections Constituency

Bajpatti assembly constituency is in Sitamarhi district that has areas of Bokhara and Bajpatti community development blocks, Bhadiyan, Birar, Bahera, Janipur, Dorpur, Jahidpur, Rasulganj, Majhaur, Nanpur Dakshini, Nanpur Uttari, Gauri, Sirsi and Dadri gram panchayats of Nanpur community development block are covered by Bajpatti assembly constituency. There are a total of 2,66,530 eligible electors of whom 1,40,736 men and 1,25,787 women. The Bajpatti assembly segment belongs to the Sitamarhi Lok Sabha constituency.

Electoral History of Bajpatti Constituency in Bihar

Bajpatti, which came into being before the last general assembly elections in Bihar in 2010, is currently held by Bihar Janata Dal (United) Minister Ranju Gita who had won the seat in that election by defeating her nearest rival Md. Anwarul Haque of the Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) by a simple margin of 3420 votes. While Ranju Gita received 44726 votes, Anwarul Haque secured 41306 votes and was followed by Ravindra Kumar Shahi who entered the fray as an Independent and polled 10428 votes.

In 2010, the congress had won only four seats in 2010 assembly polls to Bihar. The Janata Dal (United) did not nominate any candidate because it went to the polls in alliance with the BJP in the last assembly polls in Bihar. While the BJP managed to claim 91 seats, the JD (U) candidates emerged victorious from 115 constituencies. The Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD), which contested the elections together with the LJP, put up a dismal performance with only 22 seats.

However, equations have changed now. As things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways and the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) is now a part of the BJP led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) which is ruling the centre. On the other hand, the JD (U), the RJD and the Congress have come together.

One of the eight assembly segments located in the Samastipur district of Bihar, Bajpatti is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Sitamarhi which is currently represented by Ram Kumar Sharma of the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) who won the seat by defeating his nearest rival Sitaram Yadav of the RJD by a margin of 147965 votes in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections which resulted in the formation of Narendra Modi government at the centre. The RLSP, which entered into an alliance with the BJP, contested three parliamentary seats in Bihar in 2014 and won all of them riding on the Modi wave that was sweeping the country at that time.

Other five assembly constituencies in the Sitamarhi Lok Sabha seat are Madhuban, Chiraia, Dhaka, Sheohar and Belsand.

Bajpatti Assembly Election News 2015

RLSP faces a strong JD(U)

Updated on : Oct-8,2015

Rekha Kumari Gupta from RLSP is contesting in Bajpatti. She will take on the challenge from JD(U)'s sitting MLA Ranju Gita. Janata Dal (U)'s Ranju Geeta is the sitting MLA of the constituency. In the assembly elections held in November 2010, Ranju Gita won 44,726 votes against Mohammed Anwarul Haque of the RJD. The Bajpatti assembly segment belongs to the Sitamarhi Lok Sabha constituency.
Ranju Gita Prasad Kushwaha is the state minister for sugarcane industries in Nitish's Cabinet. Her asset base had increased by more than 169% in the last four years at Rs 1.47 crore. This was revealed in a report brought out through a joint study by the Association for Democratic Rights (ADR) and Bihar Election Watch (BEA).

Bajpatti Assembly Election Videos 2015