Baisi Assembly Elections 2015

Baisi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
ABDUS SUBHAN Rashtriya Janata Dal Winner
BINOD KUMAR Independent 28282
SYED RUKNUDDIN AHMAD Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 21404
GHULAM SARWAR All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen 16723
AZIZUR RAHMAN Rashtriya Lok Samta Party 9573
KHURSHEED ALAM Independent 3361
MUKESH KUMAR YADAV Samajwadi Party 2875
RIZWAN AHAMAD NOORI Ittehad-E-Millait Council 2559
HARUN RASID Bahujan Samaj Party 1474
ABDUL MATLIB HAMARAJ Nationalist Congress Party 1132
PARABHAT RANJAN KUMAR JYOTI Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 955
BRAJ KISHOR THAKUR All India Forward Bloc 800
None of the Above None of the Above 5160

Baisi Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
57 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Baisi Assembly Elections Constituency

Baisi is an assembly constituency in Purnia district is part of Kisanganj Lok Sabha constituency. Baisi is composed of the following: Baisi and Dagarua community development blocks.

Electoral History of Baisi Constituency in Bihar

One of the seven assembly constituencies located in the Purnia district in Bihar, Baisi is currently held by Abdus Subhan of the Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) who wrested the seat from the BJP by defeating Sayed Ruknuddin of the Janata Dal (United) by a margin of 5067 votes in a byepoll held to the seat which was held alongside the Lok Sabha polls in 2014.

The by-election was necessitated due to the resignation of its sitting BJP MLA Santosh Kushwaha who quit the BJP to join the JD (U) to contest the Purnia Lok Sabha seat as a JD (U) nominee in the last general parliamentary elections in 2014.

In 2010, Santosh Kushwaha had won the Baisi assembly seat by defeating his nearest rival and Congress nominee Nasar Ahamad by a margin of 9250 votes. While 39939 votes were polled in favour of Santosh Kushwaha, Nasar Ahamad received 30689 votes and was followed by Abdus Subhan who got 27263 votes. Sayed Ruknuddin, who entered the fray as an Independent, came fourth with 18986 votes. He was the winner of the seat in November election in 2005. In the previous assembly election held in February that year, the seat went in favour of Abdus Subhan who had also claimed the seat in 2000.

Under the seat sharing arrangement between the BJP and the Janata Dal (United) in 2010, the Baisi seat was allotted to the former. However, as things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways. The JD (U), the RJD and the Congress have joined forces to fight the BJP.

Abdus Subhan was also elected from the Baisi assembly seat in 1985 and 1990. While his win in 1985 came as a candidate of the Lok Dal, he won as a Janata Dal member in 1990.

Baisi is one of the six assembly segments that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Kishanganj which is currently represented by Mohammad Asrarul Haque of the Congress who won it by defeating his nearest rival Dr Dilip Kumar Jaiswal of the BJP by a margin of 192612 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014.

Baisi Assembly Election News 2015

MLA faces RLSP challenge

Updated on : Oct-16,2015

Sitting MLA Abdus Subhan from RJD is taking on the main challenge from Azizur Rehman being fielded by Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) floated by Union minister Upendra Kushwaha. However, the presence of Owaisi's MIM candidate Gulam Sarwar may spoil the chances of RJD candidate with the possibility of Muslim votes getting split. Baisi which is part of Purnea disrict has a Muslim population of more than 85%. The rest includes Yadavs and Mahadalits. Four Muslims are in the poll contest in Baisi. They are Abdus Subhan from the RJD, Azizur Rahman from RLSP, an ally of the NDA, Rukmuddin from Pappu Yadav's Jan Adhikar Manch and Ghulam Sarwar from Asaduddin Owaisi-led All India Muslim Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM).

According to insiders, Subhan, who is a sitting MLA from here, appears to have upper hand because electorate is of the view that they tried NDA's Santosh Kushwaha in the 2010 assembly polls but he failed to fulfil their expectations. After winning, he is never showed up in the constituency. Santosh later joined the JD(U) and successfully contested Lok Sabha elections. In the bypoll held in 2014, Subhan of RJD won the seat by defeating Sayed Ruknuddin of JD(U). While Subhan got 52,861 votes to emerge winner, the runner-up Ruknuddin was able to receive only 47,794 votes in the 2014 bypoll.

Baisi Assembly Election Videos 2015