Baikunthpur Assembly Elections 2015

Baikunthpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
MITHILESH TIWARI Bharatiya Janata Party Winner56162
MANJEET KUMAR SINGH Janata Dal (United) 42047
MANORMA DEVI Independent 36734
ANUP KUMAR TEWARI Bahujan Samaj Party 3735
GORAKH YADAV Independent 3405
MOHAN SINGH Independent 3055
DINESH SINGH Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 2236
Z RAHMAN Bhartiya New Sanskar Krantikari Party 2103
KRISHNA VIHARI PRASAD YADAV Communist Party of India 1866
SHAUKAT ALI Samajwadi Party 1586
RANJEET SINGH Jammu & Kashmir National Panthers Party 937
MOHAN MAHTO Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 647
DIPAK KUMAR TIWARI Rajnaitik Vikalp Party 630
None of the Above None of the Above 4813

Baikunthpur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
99 GEN Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Baikunthpur Assembly Elections Constituency

Baikunthpur is a legislative assembly constituency in Gopalganj district. The assembly segment of Baikunthpur has a total of 2,65,686 eligible voters, among whom are 1,39,060 men and 1,26,623 women. Khajuriya, Rampur, Pipra, Salempur Paschimi, Salempur Purvi, Sadaua and Hasanpur gram panchayats of Barauli community development block; Sidhwalia and Baikunthpur CD block areas are covered by the Baikunthpur assembly segment.

Electoral History of Baikunthpur Constituency in Bihar

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the district of Gopalganj in Bihar, Baikunthpur is currently held by Manjeet Kumar Singh of the Janata Dal (United) who had defeated his nearest rival and sitting Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) MLA Devdatt Prasad by a handsome margin of 36524 votes in the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2010.

In 2010, under the seat sharing arrangement between the Janata Dal (United) and the BJP Baikunthpur seat was allotted to the former. However, as things stand today, the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), the ally of the RJD in the last assembly elections, is now a part of the BJP led NDA. The JD (U), the RJD and the Congress have joined forces to fight the BJP.

In 2005 assembly elections to Baikunthpur assembly segment, which shares its border with eastern Uttar Pradesh, Devdatt Prasad had emerged victorious by defeating Manjeet Kumar Singh of the JD (U) in both the elections. It is worth mentioning that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year. Manjeet Kumar Singh was elected from the seat in 2000 on the ticket of Samata Party, the earlier avatar of JD (U). in that election he had defeated Lal Babu Prasad Yadav of the RJD by a margin of 19928 votes.

Lal Babu Prasad Yadav had emerged victorious from the seat in 1995 as a nominee of the Janata Dal. He however resigned from the seat in 1996 to entre the Lok Sabha fray in which he won.

Earlier Baikunthpur assembly constituency had sent Braj Kishor Narayan Singh to the legislative assembly of Bihar four times in a row from 1977. While his wins in 1977 and 1980 came as a candidate of the Janata Party, he won the elections in 1985 and 1990 on the ticket of the Congress.

Baikunthpur is one of the six assembly segments that unite form the parliamentary constituency of Gopalganj currently represented by Janak Ram of the BJP who won it by defeating his nearest rival Jyoti Bharti of the Congress by a margin of 2,86,936 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014.

Baikunthpur Assembly Election News 2015

Vote banks are crucial

Updated on : Oct-9,2015

Sitting JD(U) MLA Manjit Kumar Singh will fight it out with Mithilesh Tiwari of BJP in Baikunthpur. It is an evenly placed contest as both candidates can drum up support from their respective vote banks. Manjeet Kumar Singh of JD(U) represents Baikunthpur in assembly. Singh got 70,105 votes in the 2010 election and defeated RJD's Devdatt Prasad who got 33,581 votes. Baikunthpur is a assembly constituency in the Gopalganj district.

Baikunthpur Assembly Election Videos 2015