Bahadurpur Assembly Elections 2015

Bahadurpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
BHOLA YADAV Rashtriya Janata Dal Winner
HARI SAHANI Bharatiya Janata Party 54558
SHYAM BHARTI Communist Party of India (Marxist) 5595
RAJIV KUMAR CHOUDHARY Communist Party of India 3529
BAIDYANATH YADAV Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 3519
ARUN KUMAR MISHRA Independent 2950
ASHOK KUMAR MANDAL Independent 1953
AMAR KUMAR PASWAN Independent 1010
AJIT KUMAR Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 1010
HARENDRA SAHANI Bahujan Samaj Party 836
LAXMAN PASWAN Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 561
AMBIKA KUMARI National Janta Party (Indian) 511
UMAPATI KUVAR Hind Congress Party 466
None of the Above None of the Above 4910

Bahadurpur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
85 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Bahadurpur Assembly Elections Constituency

  Bahadurpur assembly segment is a part of the Lok Sabha constituency in the same district. It comprises Hanuman Nagar and Bahadurpur community development blocks. A total of 2,51,548 people are eligible voters of whom there are 1,35,232 men and 1,16,313 women electors.

Electoral History of Bahadurpur Constituency in Bihar

  One of the ten assembly constituencies located in the Darbhanga district of Bihar, Bahadurpur is currently held by Madan Sahni of the Janata Dal (United) who had won it in the last assembly polls to Bihar in 2010 by defeating his nearest rival Harinandan Yadav of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by a close margin of 643 votes in a triangular contest. In that election, Madan Sahni, who had joined the JD (U) joust before the elections, polled 27320 votes, the RJD nominee received 26677 votes and was followed by Murari Mohan Jha of the Congress who received 12444 votes.

  The rebel JD (U) candidate Binay Kumar Choudhari, who entered the fray as an independent, came fifth with 6397 votes. Harinandan Yadav had earlier elected from the Hayaghat assembly constituency in both the elections in 2005.

  Bahadurpur assembly constituency came into being before the last general assembly polls in 2010 following the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission. In 2010 the BJP did not field its candidate because it was in alliance with the JD (U) in 2010 assembly polls. However, as things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways and the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), then an ally of the RJD, is now a part of the BJP led NDA, the ruling dispensation at the Centre. In those elections, four assembly seats in the Darbhanga district were contested by the JD(U), while the remaining six seats were allotted to the its then ally BJP.

  In 2010 the congress had won only four seats in 2010 assembly polls to Bihar. While the BJP managed to claim 91 seats, the JD (U) emerged victorious from 115 constituencies. The RJD put up a dismal performance with only 22 seats.

Bahadurpur Assembly Election News 2015

JD(U) hit by rebel activities

Updated on : Oct-14,2015

Harish Sahni of BJP will take on Bhola Yadav of RJD. JD(U) conceded its sitting seat Bahadurpur to facilitate Lalu's one-time personal assistant and RJD MLC Bhola Yadav to contest the election. BJP candidate will take advantage of dissensions within JD(U) as its sitting MLA Sahni was shifted to another constituency much against the wishes of party workers. In 2010, JD(U)'s Madan Sahni had won this seat. Sahni has this year been shifted to Gaura Bauram seat by denying ticket to another sitting MLA Izhar Ahmad of JD(U). Bahadurpur is represented in the assembly by Madan Sahni of JD(U) He bagged the seat in the 2010 election having won 27,320 votes. RJD's Harinandan Yadav ended up as the runner-up with 26,677 votes. The Bahadurpur assembly segment is a part of the Lok Sabha constituency and comes under Darbhanga district.

Bahadurpur Assembly Election Videos 2015