Bahadurganj Assembly Elections 2015

Bahadurganj Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
M.D. TAUSEEF ALAM Indian National Congress Winner
AWADH BIHARI SINGH Bharatiya Janata Party 39591
MD. MASWAR ALAM Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 33638
HASNAIN MIRZA Samajwadi Party 8230
BARUN KUMAR SINGH Independent 4901
HASAN JAVED Jharkhand Mukti Morcha 2435
PARMESHWAR PRASAD SINHA Bahujan Samaj Party 2428
MD MANSOOR ALAM Nationalist Congress Party 2422
HARI MOHAN SINGH Independent 1816
RAJ KUMAR SAH Independent 1674
MD. MANJAR HASNAIN Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 1387
SAKIL AKHTER Indian Union Muslim League 1378
AZIMUDDIN Independent 1022
HIRA NAND MANDAL Rashtriya Jankranti Party 826
MD. NASIM AKHTAR Janta Dal Rashtravadi 610
AFSAR Bahujan Nyay Dal 493
GOTAM GIRI Shivsena 419
None of the Above None of the Above 1033

Bahadurganj Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
52 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Bahadurganj Assembly Elections Constituency

Bahadurganj is an assembly constituency in Kishanganj district and is part of Kishanganj Lok Sabha constituenc. Bahadurganj is composed of the Bahadurganj and Terhagachh community development blocks; Patharghatti, Ghangra and Lachhmipur gram panchayats of Dighalbank CD Block.

Electoral History of Bahadurganj Constituency in Bihar

One of the four assembly constituencies located in the Kishanganj district in Bihar, Bahadurganj is currently held by Mohammad Tausif Alam who won the seat for the Congress in the last general assembly polls to the Bihar Legislative assembly by defeating his nearest Janata Dal (United) rival Mohammad Maswar Alam by a simple margin of 3799 votes. In that election, while Mohammad Tausif Alam polled 30551 votes, Mohammad Maswar Alam received 26752 votes and was followed by independent candidate Lakhan Lal Pandit who managed to secure 9062 votes. Mohammad Anzar Naimi, who contested on the ticket of Lalu Yadav's Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD), was relegated to the sixth place.

Bahadurganj is one of the only four assembly constituencies which had elected the Congress candidates in 2010. Kasba, Kishanganj and Kahalgaon are the other three. While Kasba and Kishanganj were won by Afaq Alam and Md Jawed respectively, the Kahalgaon seat went in favour of former assembly speaker and ex-BPCC chief Sadanand Singh.

Though in 2010 assembly polls in Bihar, the JD (U) - BJP combine secured won 206 seats of the total 243 assembly constituencies in the state, it became unsuccessful in grabbing a single seat in the Kishanganj district.

The Muslim dominated Bahadurganj constituency has also elected the BJP candidate when Awadh Bihari Singh won the seat in 1995 by defeating Jahidur Rahman of Congress who, however, emerged victorious in the next assembly elections held in 2000 by defeating the former. Jahidur Rahman was trounced by Tausif Alam in February election in 2005 when the later entered the fray as an Independent candidate. Tausif Alam won the seat in November in that year as a nominee of the Congress.

It is pertinent to note that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

Bahadurganj is one of the six assembly segments that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Kishanganj which is currently represented by Mohammad Asrarul Haque of the Congress who won it by defeating his nearest rival Dr Dilip Kumar Jaiswal by a margin of 192612 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014.

Bahadurganj Assembly Election News 2015

Updated on : Oct-12,2015

Awadh Bihari Singh from BJP will take on sitting MLA Mohammed Tausif Alam in Bahadurganj. The entry of MIM candidates in Seemanchal constituencies may prove to be a blessing in disguise for NDA front as Muslim votes are bound to get split with Grand Alliance losing heavily. The decision of the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) to contest from the Seemanchal region has political importance in Bihar.
There is a grudging acknowledgment of the ability of AIMIM chief and Hyderabad MP Asaduddin Owaisi to kick up a divisive storm. And the MIM candidates will end up disrupting the very caste equations that have for long been the backbone of election strategy in Bihar. Once the religious divide gets firmed up, caste tends to become a secondary consideration and that is what is worrying the Grand Alliance.

Bahadurganj Assembly Election Videos 2015