Bachwara Assembly Elections 2015

Bachwara Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
RAMDEO RAI Indian National Congress Winner
ARVIND KUMAR SINGH Lok Jan Shakti Party 37052
ABDHESH KUMAR ROY Communist Party of India 28539
BINAY KUMAR SINGH Independent 4944
SRIMATI KUNDAN SINGH Jammu & Kashmir National Panthers Party 1816
SHWETA SUMAN YADAV Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 1460
NARESH PASWAN Bahujan Mukti Party 905
ASHOK SAH Independent 799
None of the Above None of the Above 3311

Bachwara Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
142 GEN Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Bachwara Assembly Elections Constituency

Bachhwara legislative assembly constituency is part ofBegusarai Lok Sabha constituency. It is composed of the following: Bachhwara, Mansoorchak and Bhagwanpur community development blocks.

Bachhwara legislative assembly segment is located in Begusarai district and is in the Lok Sabha constituency of Begusarai. It has 2, 52,600 eligible voters, amongst whom 1, 34,258 are male and 1, 18,338 are female. Bachhwara constituency cover Bhagwanpur, Mansoorchak and Bachhwara community development blocks.

Electroal History of Bachwara Constituency in Bihar

The only assembly seat won by the Communist Party of India (CPI), Bachwara, one of the seven assembly constituencies in the Begusarai district of Bihar, is currently held by its legislator Abdhesh Kumar Rai who won the seat by defeating his nearest rival Arvind Kumar Singh by a margin of 12087 votes in the last assembly elections to Bihar in 2010. In that election, while Abdhesh Kumar Rai had polled 33770 votes. Arvind Kumar Singh, who entered the fray as an Independent, had secured 21683 votes and was followed by the Ram Vilas Paswan headed Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) nominee Meena Devi who secured 19301 votes.

In 2010 assembly to the Bachwara constituency, the sitting Congress MLA Ramdeo Rai was relegated to the fourth place with 19080 votes and was followed by the BJP nominee Vandana Singh who, backed by the Janata Dal (United) at that time, managed to get only 15241 votes.

In the previous assembly elections held in October/November in 2005, Ramdeo Rai had trounced Abdhesh Kumar Rai by a not-so-good margin of 3018 votes. In the February polls in the same year, Ramdeo Rai, then an Independent candidate, had defeated Awdhesh by 8270 votes.

Apart from 2010 elections, Abdhesh Kumar Rai has been elected from the Bachwara assembly constituency in 1990 and 1995. A stronghold of the CPI, Bachwara had elected CPI member Ayodhya Prasad Singh in 1985. In the previous assembly elections he was defeated by Ramdeo Rai, of the Congress.

Bachwara seat went only once in favour of the Lalu led Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) in 2000 when its candidate Uttam Kumar Yadav emerged winner by virtue of his victory over Awdhesh Rai by a close margin of 458 votes.

Bachwara is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Begusarai which is currently represented by Bhola Singh of the BJP who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections that elected the Narendra Modi government at the centre.

Other six assembly constituencies that fall under the Begusarai Lok Sabha seat are Cheria Bariarpur, Teghra, Matihani, Sahebpur Kamal, Begusarai and Bakhri

Bachwara Assembly Election News 2015

Congress has fielded veteran party leader Ramdeo Rai

Updated on : Sep-29,2015

The Congress has fielded veteran party leader Ramdeo Rai from Bachwara, a seat represented by him several times in the past but lost by him in the last election. In the last election, CPI could win only one seat Bachwara out of 7 assembly constituencies in Bengusarai district. All indications are BJP will make further inroads into Begusarai, the Left bastion, which goes to polls on October 12.

Bachwara Assembly Election Videos 2015