Babubarhi Assembly Elections 2015

Babubarhi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
KAPIL DEO KAMAT Janata Dal (United) Winner
BINOD KUMAR SINGH Lok Jan Shakti Party Runner-41219
UMA KANT YADAV Samajwadi Party 27153
SHIV SUNDAR KAMAT Independent 3920
SURYA NARAYAN MAHTO Communist Party of India 3635
VISHWANATH ROY Independent 3404
VIJAY KUMAR SINGH Independent 3332
DILIP KUMAR SHARMA Independent 3328
RITA DEVI Bahujan Samaj Party 2105
S.N. JHA Akhil Bhartiya Mithila Party 1591
MEENA DEVI Akhil Bharat Hindu Mahasabha 1335
DILIP KUMAR JHA Rashtriya Jankranti Party 1328
BRAJENDRA JHA Hind Congress Party 1264
None of the Above None of the Above 8134

Babubarhi Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
34 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Babubarhi Assembly Elections Constituency

Babubarhi, is in Madhubani district is a egislative assembly constituencies comprising of Ladania and Babubarhi CD blocks, Chandargobraura South, Chandargobraura North, Kanhauli, Sukki, Inarwa, Bhakua and Chandardih gram panchayats of Khajauli community development block areas. A total of 2,60,449 people are eligible to vote in Babubarhi assembly constituency of whom there are 1,37,039 men and 1,23,397 women.

Electroal History of Babubarhi Constituency in Bihar

Babubarhi, assembly constituency is in Madhubani district. A total of 2, 60,449 people are eligible to vote from this constituency of whom 1, 37,039 are men and 1, 23,397 women voters. Babubarhi assembly segment comprises of Ladania and Babubarhi CD blocks, Chandargobraura South, Chandargobraura North, Kanhauli, Sukki, Inarwa, Bhakua and Chandardih gram panchayats of Khajauli community development block.

One of the ten assembly constituencies located in the Madhubani district of Bihar, Babubarhi is currently represented by Uma Kant Yadav who won the seat by defeating his nearest rival and sitting Janata Dal (United) MLA Kapil Deb Kamat by a margin of 4913 votes in the last general assembly elections to the state held in 2010.

While Uma Kant Yadav, who contested on the ticket of Rashtriya Janata Dal, polled 51772 votes, Kapil Deb Kamat secured 46859 votes and was followed by Raj Kumar Mahaseth of the Congress who got 12667 votes.

The RJD had won only 22 seats in the last assembly polls in Bihar. The BJP and the JD (U) had claimed 91 and 115 seats respectively.

Kapil Deb Kamat had emerged victorious from the seat in October assembly elections in 2005 by defeating Uma Kant Yadav who had won the seat by defeating him in the previous assembly in February in that year. It has to be noted that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of October of the same year.

Uma Kant Yadav had also won the Babubarhi assembly seat in a byepoll to the seat in 2003 which was necessitated due to the death of the sitting RJD MLA Dev Narayan Yadav who had been elected from the seat in 1977, 1990, 1995 and 2000. Dev Narayan Yadav, a former speaker of the Bihar legislative assembly, served as a minister in the cabinet of Bihar's first Chief minister Shri Krishna Singh.

Earlier Babubarhi assembly seat had sent Mahendra Narain Jha of the Congress to the Bihar legislative assembly in 1980 when he had defeated Dev Narayan Yadav.

Babubarhi is one of the six assembly constituencies that unite to create the parliamentary constituency of Jhanjharpur which is currently represented by Birendra Kumar Chaudhary of the BJP who won it by defeating his nearest rival and sitting MP and RJD candidate Mangani Lal Mandal in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014. Mangani Lal Mandal had won the seat in the previous Lok Sabha election on the ticket of the Janata Dal (United).

Babubarhi Assembly Election News 2015

Updated on : Oct-9,2015

Sitting RJD MLA Umakant Yadav quit the party and is now contesting the election in Babubarhi on a Samajwadi Party ticket. He will be finding it a tough battle as his main opponent is Kapildev Kamath of JD(U) who was the runner-up in the last assembly election. Both the main contestants are rivals in the last election too. Caste matrix and the last-minute sentiment of the voters will be the clinching factors in this constituency.
CPI too is contesting in Babubarhi. The sitting MLA Uma Kant Yadav of RJD defeated Kapildev Kamat of JD(U) by a margin of 4,913 votes in the 2010 assembly election. Yadav got 51,772 votes, while Kamat managed 46,859 votes. The Babubarhi segment lies in Jhanjharpur Lok Sabha constituency and is part of Madhubani district.

Babubarhi Assembly Election Videos 2015