Aurangabad Assembly Elections 2015

Aurangabad Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
ANAND SHANKAR SINGH Indian National Congress Won
RAMADHAR SINGH Bharatiya Janata Party 45239
KAUSHAL SINGH Bahujan Samaj Party 15260
KUMAR GAURAV Independent 5978
SANJIT KUMAR CHOURASIA Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 3623
RAM CHANDAR YADAV Independent 3013
SINESH RAHI Communist Party of India 2714
VIKRAM KUMAR Independent 1811
SATYENDRA SINGH Independent 1702
MAHESH BHUIYA Independent 1231
DHNUSH SINGH YADAV Bahujan Mukti Party 1007
GUDDU KUMAR Independent 839
BIJAY KUMAR SHARMA Independent 684
MAHESHWAR PASWAN Akhil Hind Forward Bloc (Krantikari) 562
SURENDRA YADAW Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 467
SURYADEO PANDEY Independent 416
None of the Above None of the Above 910

Aurangabad Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
223 GEN Phase II Sep 21st 2015 Oct 16th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Aurangabad Assembly Election Constituency

Aurangabad legislative assembly segment is in same Lok Sabha constituency. Aurangabad legislative assembly constituency consists of Eraura, Pawai, East Ketaki, West Ketaki, Kharkani, Bhawanipur, Hasauli, Bedhni, Deo, Sargawan, Basdiha and Israur gram panchayats of Deo community development block; and Jamhore Notified Area and Aurangabad Nagar Parishad of Aurangabad community development block. There are a total of 2,61,467 eligible voters in the Aurangabad legislative assembly segment, out of whom 1,40,974 are men and 1,20,482 are women.

Electoral History of Aurangabad Constituency in Bihar

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the district of the same name in Bihar, Aurangabad is currently held by Ramadhar Singh of the BJP who retained it in the last assembly elections by defeating the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) nominee Sunil Kumar Singh by an impressive margin of 6242 votes in a direct fight. In that election, while Ramadhar Singh, who has won the seat four times, polled 41176 votes, Sunil Kumar Singh, brother of Aurangabad BJP MP Sushil Kumar Singh, received 34934 votes and was followed by Kaushal Singh of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) who got 13012 votes. Irfan Ahamad of the CPI (Communist Party of India), Rakesh Kumar Singh alias Pappu Singh of the Congress forfeited their deposits.

Sunil Kumar Singh had left the JD (U) after being denied ticket by the JD(U) to contest the Rafiganj assembly constituency in 2010 and joined the RJD to contest the Aurangabad assembly seat. Sushil Kumar Singh had also switched his loyalty from the JD (U) to the BJP before the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. Sushil Singh, who won the Rafiganj assembly seat in 2000 on the ticket of the Samata Party, emerged victorious from the Aurangabada parliamentary seat in 2009 on the ticket of the BJP.

Earlier Ramadhar Singh has emerged victorious from the Rajput dominated Aurangabad assembly seat thrice, first in 1995 and in both the elections held in 2005 (February 2005 and October/November) assembly elections. He was defeated in 2000 by Suresh Mehta of the RJD. He was forced to resign from the ministership in 2011 when a local court declared him an absconder.

Ram Naresh Singh, father of Sunil Kumar Singh, was elected from the Aurangabad seat twice. In 1977, Ram Naresh Singh, popularly known as Lutan Singh, claimed the seat for the Congress and again won it in the subsequent elections in 1980 as an independent candidate.

Aurangabad is one of the six assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of the same name currently held by Sushil Kumar Singh of the BJP who had won the seat in 2014 Lok Sabha elections by defeating Nikhil Kumar of the Congress by a margin of 66347 votes. Nikhil Kumar is a former Delhi police commissioner and governor of Nagaland and Kerala.

Aurangabad Assembly Election News 2015

Rajnath slams Lalu

Union home minister and senior BJP leader Rajnath Singh joined issue with RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav at a rally in Aurangabad. In a counter to Lalu's remark the Hindus too eat beef, Rajnath wondered if the RJD chief is urging people to eat beef in this country. Congress has chosen Anand Shankar for Aurangabad. While BJP has fielded Ramadhar Singh here which has a groundwell of support for the NDA candidate among the youth and women.

Aurangabad Assembly Election Videos 2015