Atri Assembly Elections 2015

Atri Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
KUNTI DEVI Rashtriya Janata Dal Won
ARVIND KUMAR SINGH Lok Jan Shakti Party 46870
KRISHNA NANDAN YADAV Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 9603
SITARAM PRASAD YADAV Communist Party of India 6554
DARVESH SINGH Independent 5926
SUBHASH KUMAR SINHA Independent 5317
MD. SARWAR KHAN Independent 2660
JAI PRAKASH SINGH Independent 1718
SUNIL KUMAR Bahujan Samaj Party 1663
BIJAY YADAV International Party 855
MOHAMMAD AURANGAJEB Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 802
RAJEEV RANJAN Independent 787
VISHWAJIT KUMAR NAVIN National Janta Party (Indian) 771
None of the Above None of the Above 6239

Atri Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
233 GEN Phase II Sep 21st 2015 Oct 16th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Atri Assembly Elections Constituency

Atri legislative assembly segment is located in the Gaya district and a part of the Jahanabad Lok Sabha constituency. There is a total of 2,65,154 eligible voters amongst all whom 1,39,318 are men and 1,25,830 are women. It comprise Mohra, Khizarsarai, Atri and Neem Chak Bathani community development blocks.

Electoral History of Atri Constituency in Bihar

Krishna Nandan Yadav is the sitting Janata Dal(United) MLA from Atri, one of the ten assembly constituencies located in the Gaya district in Bihar. In the last assembly elections to Bihar held in 2010, he won the seat by defeating his nearest rival and sitting Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) MLA Kunti Devi by a thumping margin of 20610 votes. In that election while Krishna Nandan Yadav polled 55633 votes, Kunti Devi secured 35023 votes.

Ashwini Kumar, who entered the fray on the ticket of the Congress, came third with just 6345 votes. The Lok Jana Shakti (LJP) did not field its candidate because Atri was allotted to the RJD under the seat sharing arrangement among them. However as things stand today, LJP is now part of the BJP led National Democratic Alliance (NDA). The RJD, the JD (U) and the Congress have come together to check the BJP.

Earlier Kunti Devi, wife of former RJD MLA Rajendra Prasad Yadav, had won the November polls to Bihar in 2005. In that election, she had defeated Virendra Singh of the BJP by a margin of 2922 votes. She was nominated by the RJD because the incumbent MLA and her husband Rajendra Prasad Yadav got involved in a murder case. Rajendra Prasad Yadav has later been convicted by a court of law.

Rajendra Prasad Yadav had won the Atri assembly seat in 1995, 2000 and the 2005 February elections. While his win in 1995 came as a Janata Dal candidate by virtue of his victory over Krishan Kumar Singh of the BJP, he emerged victorious in 2000 and 2005 February election on the ticket of the RJD.

Atri was claimed by Ranjit Singh of the Congress in 1985 and 1990.

Though Atri lies in the Gaya district, it is one of the six assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of Jahanabad currently held by Arun Kumar of Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP), an alliance partner of the BJP in Bihar. Arun Kumar had won the seat in 2014 Lok Sabha elections by defeating former Bihar minister Surendra Yadav of the RJD by a margin of 42340 votes.

Atri Assembly Election News 2015

BJP candidate has an edge

Updated on : Oct-2,2015

BJP's Ashok Singh is pitted against Ambika Singh from RJD in a constituency where caste arithmetic plays a critical role. However, BJP is mobilising its top rung leaders to canvas votes through rallies and public meetings. According to observers, the BJP candidate is having an edge against his RJD rival with rising populaty of PM Modi and his policies.

Atri Assembly Election Videos 2015