Asthawan Assembly Elections 2015

Asthawan Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
JITENDRA KUMAR Janata Dal (United) Won
CHHOTE LAL YADAV Lok Jan Shakti Party 48464
YUGESHWAR MANJHI Independent 4259
SANJAY PASWAN Independent 3494
KUMAR JAYAKANT Nationalist Congress Party 2280
PRAMOD NARAYAN SINHA Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 2104
SATYENDRA KRISHNAM Communist Party of India 2005
DEOKI PASWAN Independent 1956
RAJKUMAR Bahujan Samaj Party 1854
MD.KASHIF YUNUS Rastriya Insaaf Party 968
MURARI KUMAR Dalit Samaj Party 785
KIRAN DEVI Samajwadi Party 532
None of the Above None of the Above 5390

Asthawan Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
171 GEN Phase III Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Asthawan Assembly Elections Constituency

Asthawan is located in the Nalanda district. It is a part of Nalanda Lok Sabha constituency. A total of 2,57,277 people in the Asthawan assembly constituency possess the right to vote, out of whom 1,37,957 are men and 1,19,313 are women. Asthawan assembly segment comprises Katrisarai, Sarmera, Bind and Asthawan community development blocks.

Electoral History of Asthawan Constituency in Bihar

Asthawan assembly segment is located in the Nalanda district. It has a total of 2, 57,277 eligible voters of whom 1, 37,957 are men and 1, 19,313 are women. Asthawan assembly segment comprises Katrisarai, Sarmera, and Bind and Asthawan community development blocks.

One of the seven assembly constituencies located in the Nalanda district of Bihar, Asthawan was won by Jitendra Kumar of the Janata Dal (United) in the last assembly polls to Bihar in 2010. In that election, Jitendra Kumar had polled 54176 votes to trounce Kapildev Prasad Singh of the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) by a margin 19570 votes. Kapildev Prasad Singh received 34606 votes.

Former Asthawan MLA Satish Kumar, who was nominated by the Congress to contest the Asthawan assembly seat in 2010, was relegated to the fourth place with 4276 votes. The RJD did not filed its nominee as the party had had contested the 2010 assembly elections to Bihar in alliance with the LJP.

Jitendra Kumar had also claimed the Asthawan seat in both the elections in 2005 as a nominee of the JD (U). On both the occasions, his nearest rival was the RJD's Dr. Kumar Pushpanjay who was also defeated in a byepoll in 2001 by Satish Kumar of Samata Party, the earlier avatar of the Janata Dal (United). The byepoll was necessitated due to the death of the sitting MLA Raghunath Prasad Sharma (R P Sharma) who had won the seat in 1985, 1990 and 2000 as an Independent. In 2000 he had defeated Satish Kumar, then a Nationalist Congress party (NCP) nominee. R P Sharma was the father of Dr. Kumar Pushpanjay.

Earlier Satish Kumar had also claimed the Asthawan assembly seat in 1995 as an Independent.

The Congress had won the Asthawan assembly seat last time in 1980 when its nominee Ayodhya Prasad had trounced Arjun Prasad Singh of the Communist Party of India (CPI).

Asthawan is one of the seven assembly constituencies that unite to form the Nalanda parliamentary constituency currently represented by Kaushalendra Kumar of the JD (U) who retained the seat by defeating his nearest LJP rival Satyanand Sharma by a margin of 9627 votes in the last parliamentary elections in 2014. The JD(U) managed to win only two Lok Sabha seats in 2014.

Biharsharif, Rajgir, Islampur, Hilsa, Nalanda and Harnaut are the other six assembly segments located in the Nalanda parliamentary constituency.

Asthawan Assembly Election News 2015

LJP fields real estate broker

Updated on : Oct-5,2015

LJP has fielded Chote Lal Yadav from Asthawan to take on Dr Jitendra Kumar, the incumbent and three-time JD(U) legislator.

Chote Lal Yadav is a real estate broker and a new face in the electoral battle. He is facing an uphill task to unseat Jitendra Kumar who is a well-known personality in Asthawan.

However, the popularity of PM Modi and the swelling support base of NDA front-led by BJP will win votes for Chote Lal.

Asthawan Assembly Election Videos 2015