Arwal Assembly Elections 2015

Arwal Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
RAVINDRA SINGH Rashtriya Janata Dal Won
CHITRANJAN KUMAR Bharatiya Janata Party 37485
MAHANAND PRASAD Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 21354
RAUNAK Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 3650
ARJUN THAKUR Bahujan Samaj Party 2584
AMRENDRA KUMAR Samajwadi Party 1702
VIRENDRA KUMAR Independent 1343
SIKANDAR KUMAR Independent 1312
MANOJ KUMAR 'SANTOSH' Independent 882
PRABHAT KUMAR Rashtriya Sarvodya Party 770
None of the Above None of the Above 2574

Arwal Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
214 GEN Phase II Sep 21st 2015 Oct 16th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Arwal Assembly Election Constituency

Arwal is a legislative constituency belongs to the Jahanabad Lok Sabha constituency. The Arwal assembly constituency covers Rampur Chay, Belkhara, Bambhai, Shahar Telpa and Keyal gram panchayats of Karpi community development block; Kaler community development block; and Arwal community development block

Electoral History of Arwal Constituency in Bihar

One of the two assembly constituencies located in the district of the same name in Bihar, Arwal is currently held by Chitranjan Kumar who won the seat for the BJP in the last Bihar assembly polls in 2010 by defeating his nearest rival Mahanand Prasad of the CPIML by a margin of 4042 votes. While 23984 votes were polled in favour of Chitranjan Kumar, an outlaw turned spiritual seeker, Mahanand Prasad received 19782 votes and was followed by the sitting Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) MLA Dular Chand Singh who got 15513 votes. Dhananjay Kumar, who entered the contest on the ticket of the Congress, came fourth with 5196 votes.

Chitranjan Kumar was once a member of the Pandav Gang which claimed to champion the cause of "upper caste" groups in Bihar. He later became an Art of Living (AOL) faculty under the auspices of the Art of Living floated by Sri Sri Ravi Shankar.

Earlier Dular Chand Singh had won both the assembly elections in 2005 from the Arwal constituency on the ticket of the LJP. In 2005 February elections, he defeated the RJD nominee Veena Devi whose husband of Akhilesh Prasad Singh had emerged victorious from the seat in 2000 on the ticket of the RJD. Akhilesh Prasad Singh, former Bihar health minister and Union minister, was elected to the Lok Sabha from the erstwhile Motiahari seat in 2004. Akhilesh Prasad Singh is now with Congress and unsuccessfully contested the Muzaffarpur Lok Sabha seat in 2014 against Ajay Nishad of the BJP.

Krishana Nandan Prasad Singh, an independent candidate, managed to win the Arwal assembly seat three times in row (1980, 1985 and 1990). Known for caste conflicts, Arwal was won by CPI candidate in 1967 and 1969. In the previous assembly elections held in 1962 he had lost to the Congress nominee Budhan Mehta. It was the last time the Congress won the Arwal seat.

Arwal is one of the six assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of Jahanabad currently held Arun Kumar of Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP), an alliance partner of the BJP in Bihar. Arun Kumar had won the seat in 2014 Lok Sabha elections by defeating former Bihar minister Surendra Yadav of the RJD by a margin of 42340 votes.

Arwal Assembly Election News 2015

BJP leader slams Lalu

Speaking at an election rally in Arwal, senior BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi slammed RJD chief Lalu Prasad for his remark that this election is a fight between backward castes and forward castes. Affirming that the NDA stood for development, he sarcastically said the quality roads that would be built by the future NDA government would be used both by forward and backward castes. BJP has given ticket to Chitranjan Kumar who is facing a tough contest from Ravindra Singh from RJD in Arwal.

Arwal Assembly Election Videos 2015