Arrah Assembly Elections 2015

Arrah Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
MOHAMMAD NAWAZ ALAM Rashtriya Janata Dal Won
AMRENDRA PRATAP SINGH Bharatiya Janata Party 69338
KYAMUDDIN ANSARI Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 5035
JITENDRA KUMAR Independent 1710
RAJKISHOR SHARMA Independent 1221
AJAY KUMAR PATHAK Akhil Bharatiya Jan Sangh 1015
SIDHNATH RAI Samajwadi Party 875
KRISHNA MISHRA Bahujan Samaj Party 839
KAMESHWAR SINGH Independent 717
UMESHWAR MISHRA Bhartiya Jagaran Party 655
None of the Above None of the Above 3203

Arrah Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
194 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Arrah Assembly Elections Constituency

Arrah legislative assembly constituency is in same Lok Sabha. There are a total of 2,65,749 people in the Arrah legislative assembly segment who hold the right to vote as per the universal adult suffrage. Amongst all the voters in the constituency, 1,45,549 are men and 1,20,182 are women. According to the Delimitation Commission of India 2008, the Arrah assembly constituency comprises Ganghar, Ramapur Sandiya, Pirauta, Sandia,Makhdumpur Dumra, Daulatpur, Bhakura, Jamira, Hasanpura, Gothahula, Karari, Mahuli and Arrah (M) gram panchayats of Arrah community development block.

Electoral History of Arrah Constituency in Bihar

  One of the seven assembly segments located in the Bhojpur district in Bihar, Arrah assembly constituency is currently being represented by the sitting BJP MLA Amrendra Pratap Singh who won the seat for the fourth consecutive time in 2010 by defeating the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) Shree Kumar Singh by a margin of 18940 votes. in that election, while Amrendra Pratap Singh, currently the Deputy speaker of the Bihar legislative assembly, polled 56504 votes, the LJP received 37564 votes.

   Earlier Amrendra Pratap Singh, son of former Bihar Chief Minister Sardar Harihar Singh, had won the Arrah assembly seat in 2000 and both the assembly elections held in 2005. In both the elections in 2005 his nearest rival was Nawaj Alam of the the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD). Amrendra Pratap Singh is the younger brother of former Jharkhand Speaker Mrigendra Pratap Singh who was also the Finance Minister in the Babulal Marandi-led BJP government.

   Mrigendra Pratap Singh had quit the BJP in 2005 and joined the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD). Amrendra Pratap Singh has won the Arrah seat in 2000 by defeating sitting MLA Abdul Malik who contested on the ticket of the RJD. Abdul Malik had been elected from the seat in the previous assembly elections in 1995 on the ticket of the Janata Dal and was a minister in the Rabri Devi government.

   Arrah is one of the six assembly constituencies that unite to form the parliamentary seat of the same name currently represented by R K Singh of the BJP who won the seat in 2014 Lok Sabha polls by defeating his nearest rival Sribhagwan Singh Kushwaha of the RJD by a handsome margin of 135870 votes. While R K Singh, former union home secretary, received 391074 votes, Sribhagwan Singh Kushwaha polled 255204 votes. The sitting JD (U) MP Meena Singh was relegated to the fourth place with CPIML nominee Raju Yadav claiming the third spot.

   Agiaon, Sandesh, Barhara, Tarari, Jagdishpur and Shahpur are the other six assembly segments located in the Arrah parliamentary constituency. Of these while Shahpur, Agiaon and Sandesh were won by the BJP in 2010, Jagdishpur and Tarari went in favour of the JDU. The RJD managed to win the Barhara seat.

Arrah Assembly Election News 2015

Keen tussle is expected

Updated on : Oct-3,2015

RJD's Muhammad Nawaz Alam is locked in a keen tussle with the sitting MLA Amrendra Pradap Singh of BJP. While BJP candidate will be banking on his past work to fetch votes, Muhammad Nawaz is pinning hopes on the caste factor. Arrah constituency in Bhojpur district is represented in the legislature by BJP's Amrendra Pratap Singh. He won the seat in the 2010 election by bagging 56,504 votes. He beat Shree Kumar Singh of LJP who won 37,564 votes.

Arrah Assembly Election Videos 2015