Araria Assembly Elections 2015

Araria Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
AVIDUR RAHMAN Indian National Congress Won
AJAY KUMAR JHA Lok Jan Shakti Party 52623
DR(CAPT.) S. R. JHA Communist Party of India 5898
HAIDER YASIN Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 4862
SHAD AHMAD Samajwadi Party 3377
VIJAY KUMAR MISHRA Independent 3113
MD. SARVAR ALAM Independent 2714
VINOD KUMAR Independent 2344
MIR MANSOOR ALAM Independent 918
NASIM Bahujan Mukti Party 691
BHUMANAND RISHI Rashtriya Jankranti Party 655
PANKAJ KUMAR GUPTA National Janta Party (Indian) 541
PRAMOD BACHCHAN Janta Dal Rashtravadi 439
MD. IZHAR ALAM Independent 425
MAHMOOD REZA Socialist Janata Party 417
None of the Above None of the Above 3924

Araria Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
49 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Araria Assembly Elections Constituency

Araria legislative assembly constituency is part of Lok Sabha constituency as well. Araria assembly segment covers Araria Nagar Parishad and Araria community development block. The Araria assembly constituency has a total of 2,56,968 voters of whom 1,36,921 male and 1,20,040 female voters.

Electoral History of Araria Constituency in Bihar

Araria is one of the six assembly constituencies located in the parliamentary constituency of the same name in Bihar. The Araria assembly segment covers Araria Nagar Parishad and Araria community development blocks. This assembly constituency has a total of 2, 56,968 voters of whom there are 1, 36,921 male and 1, 20,040 female voters.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the district of the same name in Bihar, Araria assembly constituency was won in 2010 general assembly polls to the Bihar Legislative assembly by Zakir Hussain Khan of Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) who had defeated his nearest rival Narayan Kumar Jha of the BJP by an impressive margin of 18061 votes.

. In that election, whereas Zakir Hussain Khan, a former Bahujan Samaj Party MLA from Forbesganj assembly seat, polled 49532 votes, Narayan Kumar Jha received 31471 votes and was followed by Moidur Rahman of the Congress who managed to secure 18344 votes.

Zakir Hussain Khan, one of the three MLAs of LJP who got elected to the Bihar legislative assembly in 2010 polls which witnessed the landslide victory of JDU-BJP coalition, bade adieu to his party in 2011 and is now a JD (U) legislator. The other two legislators of the LJP have also joined the JD (U) bandwagon.

In a byelection to the Araria assembly seat in 2009, LJP candidate Vijay Kumar Mandal wrested the seat from the BJP which has won from here in both the elections in 2005. In both occasions Pradeep Kumar Singh was the BJP candidate.

It has to be borne in mind that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year. Bijay Kumar Mandal had emerged victorious from Araria also in 1995 and 2000. He unsuccessfully contested the Sikti assembly seat in 2010 on the ticket of the LJP.

Araria had also been represented by Bihar heavyweight politician and turncoat Tasilmuddin who was elected from the seat in 1980. Tasilmuddin was a minister in the UPA government led by Manmohan Singh.

Araria is one of the six assembly segments that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of the same name which is currently represented by Tasilmuddin of the RJD who won it by defeating his nearest rival and sitting MP Pradeep Kumar Singh by a margin of 146506 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014.

Araria Assembly Election News 2015

Updated on : Oct-9,2015

Abidur Rehman of Congress is taking on the NDA candidate here in Araria. AIMIM is contesting the Bihar assembly polls in Muslim-dominated constituencies in Seemanchal comprising Kishanganj, Purnea, Araria and Katihar districts. Muslims form 16.5% of Bihar's 105 million population.
Asaduddin Owaisi has said that his party (AIMIM) will fight elections from the Seemanchal region. Araria, Purnea, Kishanganj, Katihar come under this region. In Kishanganj, there are about 70% Muslim voters, in Katihar about 45%, in Araria it is 48-49% and in Purnea too the percentage of Muslim population is above 40%. While the NDA is targeting the upper castes, extremely backward classes and dalits, the Grand Alliance is wooing backward castes and Muslims in Araria district.
But if MIM is going to field candidates in Muslim dominated areas, then this will cut into the vote share of the Grand Alliance. The assembly seat of Araria is occupied by LJP's Zakir Hussain Khan, who won 49,532 votes in the November 2010 assembly elections. He defeated Narayan Kumar Jha of BJP by 18,061 votes.

Araria Assembly Election Videos 2015